{summer writing} postage pending

51faea29a5578547359c1c830c7fcd0bWI 17 of the Summer Writing | Drawing Program already encourages the writing of a letter or postcard, but I had failed to consider illustrating an envelope like the one pictured. The image (credited below) and Natalya’s receipt of a postcard sent from a best friend visiting Nova Scotia excited today’s summer writing post.

My filter bubble generated tips on how to do cover letters…my life is rather a stress-ball right now. a bit more searching yielded:

The Emily Post Institute on “Writing Personal Letters”

and

Tamra Orr (for European Paper) has “10 Letter Writing Tips” that work for personal and professional.

or there is a number of epistolary novels to recommend for inspiration.

BookPage lists some of “The Best Contemporary Epistolary Novels.

Kailana has a few on her pinterest board that may be of interest.

I can recommend a few classics like Bram Stoker’s Dracula or John Cleland’s Fanny Hill. I’d only recommend Pamela by Samuel Richardson if you promise to wash it down with Henry Fielding’s Shamela.

Seems like a letter written could be steeped in a creepy mystery, misadventures, saintly romance, or parody, and maybe it could be real life too.

…Postcards…

Cynthia Ord has excellent advice for “How to Write the Perfect Postcard

meiadeleite shares “20 Ideas of Things to Write on Postcards”

and I highly recommend Keri Smith’s Everything Is Connected: Reimagining the World One Postcard at a Time. We have the collection of her journals (having experienced Wreck this Journal years ago now).

9780399165184

{topmost image via postalpop}

Published by L

I read, and I write. and until recently, I sold books.

thoughts? would love to hear them...