mis(chief)fits

The Misfits : The Royal Conundrum by Lisa Yee + Dan Santat

Random House, 2024

Hardcover Middle Grade, 288pp.

With gratitude to Edelweiss+ and Random House for the eARC.

“When a notorious thief is out for priceless treasure (gems! cats! general decorum!)—who’re you gonna call? An elite team of crime-fighting underdogs, that’s who!” (publisher’s copy)

I knew this would be solid read and I was not disappointed. I look forward to seeing the actual finished art (as the eARC only offered gestures), but I know they can only add to the fun. The Misfits is humorous and full of youthful hijinks. Does it test the imagination of an adult reader at times? sure; but it is the kind of mystery, action, and friendship dynamics that young readers should adore (even as I worry it runs/feels a bit long). This one should catch some intersection of Kelly Yang and Stuart Gibbs readers.

Published by L

I read, and I write. and until recently, I sold books.

thoughts? would love to hear them...