{poetry} list stealing diversion

Kailana over at “The Written World” is participating in a Poetry: Read More/Blog More monthly event. This sounds like a good event, but this post is more about stealing the questions Lu posted on her blog and Kailana is responding to on hers. I needed something for today, and I didn’t want to talk about anticipating a book and beginning it and then feeling the need to set it aside for another time. I was so excited to read it, too; but we were not connecting. I hope we will, because I hate being among the few to dislike the book everyone loves. I think I may be more tired of the re-visiting of traditional tales in juvenile fiction than I had previously thought.  But we are not talking about that today. Poems…

1- Your favorite poem
“Much Madness is Divinest Sense” by Emily Dickinson, or “The Lovesong of J. Alfred Prufrock” by T.S. Eliot, or “i like my body when it with your” by e.e. cummings. these are the first three that came to mind, with a blush for the last one, which I don’t know why it came to mind in the listing; nevertheless, I do love that one.

2- Your favorite poet
Emily Dickinson and William Carlos Williams, most consistently. and my daughter–she’s a favorite.

3- Do you read poetry often? Why or why not?
More of late. It usually goes in stretches, and occasional happenings-upon, but lately, with the daughter taking Poetry as an Extensive Learning Opportunity at school, I’ve been reading her work and others’ who would inspire via types or themes for her work.

4- Why did you start reading poetry?
it has always brought me joy. it is a venue I really connect with emotionally and intellectually. it all began with Seuss and the church hymnals at a very early age.

5- Do you ever write poetry?
less and less frequently. much of my older stuff embarrasses me. I did write a poem the other day. I am not disciplined for it, relying on spontaneity too much. I’m also clumsy with meter and end rhyme and worry I am too free in my free verse.

6- Is there a poet you’ve always wanted to read but never have?
no one comes immediately to mind. more contemporary writers would be a good idea; and more international authors.

and you?

(you can use this as a time to recommend a poet or poem, but mostly I’m curious)

{image: “Experience 261” (Images#3) by Will Ashford via Altered Pages}

Published by L

I read, and I write. and until recently, I sold books.

2 thoughts on “{poetry} list stealing diversion

  1. For the most part I only find myself reading poetry during National Poetry Month, April, when it is brought to my attention again. I haven’t exposed myself to it enough to be “must read” material all year long, and yet I’ve discovered some wonderful stuff.

    Poe of course is a favorite, and thanks to Megan Follows and the Wonderworks production of Anne of Green Gables, The Lady of Shalott by Tennyson may forever rank among my top favorite poems.

    Catherynne Valente has written some incredible, and not always easy to wrap my head around, poetry in the folk lore vein. Gaiman has written some poetry that really speaks to me, and others that don’t work for me at all.

    Last year I discovered Edna St. Vincent Millay and I liked what I read. I’ve been saving a small book of her poetry for this April. It is actually sitting right next to me on my work desk as I love the cover.

    And I also fell hard for Keats after watching the film, Bright Star.

    I will definitely be delving into more poetry again this year, and while it may never be my “go to” reading I am glad that I’ve been open minded and adventurous enough to find some great stuff.

thoughts? would love to hear them...