{bookishness} RIP X

on

rip10500Image used with permission, property of Abigail Larson.

It is the tenth anniversary of the always anticipated Reader’s Imbibing Peril (RIP)!!

“Ten years ago, when reading challenges were all the rage, I started my very first one.  I did not see a lot of events centered around the gothic and classic horror that I loved to imbibe in when Summer turns to Autumn, and so R.I.P. was born.  Though this kind of literature isn’t my first love, this event is the one I cherish the most of all that I have hosted on Stainless Steel Droppings.  It was my first, and I look most forward to it every year.”–Carl V. (The Estella Society announcement post)

It also happens to be a year where Carl V. of Stainless Steel Droppings is handing Andi & Heather at the reins to The Estella Society, and instead of host, will act as participant; “I had some commitments that I knew were going to make hosting a challenge.”

I am hoping to actually participate this year as well.

The event runs: September 1st to October 31st.

The reads span these descriptions: Mystery. Suspense. Thriller. Dark Fantasy. Gothic. Horror. Supernatural.

The rules are simple:

1. Have fun reading (and watching).
2. Share that fun with others.

There are multiple Perils… see The Estella’s Revenge event page for Perils and images. A Group-Read is being hosted, so check that out as well.

I’m not sure which Peril I will do. I do hope to read Frances Hardinge’s Cuckoo Song, and reread Holly Grant’s The League of Beastly Dreadfuls. Goodness knows I will be reading plenty of seasonal Picture Books…  I will try to update this page with a list (& links).

For good reading/viewing ideas, the Review page and looking at others’ “to-read” lists are helpful (see Event page).

thoughts? would love to hear them...

