{bookishness + diversity in lit} #diversiverse

on

I mentioned BookLust‘s readerly challenge on Friday in the links.  I promptly got distracted by the weekend and one of those job interviews you’d like to be hired after. But I have signed up! yesterday…And now I am officially posting about it!

a a amdubanner-col2

As an eloquent Aarti (of BookLust) writes:

None of us lives in a monochromatic world, and yet the fact that terrifying hate crimes still occur makes it clear that we do not fully understand or trust each other.  And maybe part of the reason is because the media we consume does not accurately reflect the diversity of our society.  And books are such a massive part of the media we consume that we should demand and fight for those that do represent minorities and those that do present the world from a different perspective than the one we are used to.  So please – participate.  You may just discover a character or an author or a setting or a story that will completely change your life.

The criteria are as follows:

  • Read and review one book
  • Written by a person of color
  • During the last two weeks of September (September 14th – 27th) 

This has to be one of the least challenging challenges in the book-blogosphere–unless you find a book that will grow you.

I am excited to not only lend my voice to this community of passionate readers, but as Sarah pointed out in her post yesterday, there are going to be some great reading lists to be made after this event. Actually, I’ve already started mining lists like Sarah’s. I don’t know what I will be reading at the time. I am gearing up to spend September on comic books, so I will plan to share some particularly exciting comics written by persons of color.

I am going to cull the book reviews from my Friday posts and list them for options as well. Check out Sarah’s and participant sites, lists, and reviews as linked here at BookLust. Better, participate!

If you want to participate, but need a site to post your review, I will host you here on omphaloskepsis. I will even edit the post if you want. contact me: omphaloskepsis[at]stonhaus[dot]com.

thoughts? would love to hear them...

