{summer writing} playlists

on

my-playlist-can-tell-you-the-story-of-my-life

Stories have been written with playlists in mind, let alone the title. Some authors of books and graphic novels offer playlists for the reader to run while reading their work. I’ve yet to do the “create a playlist & write to it” Summer Writing challenge/prompt, but I really like the idea of it. How might a particular song influence the story you are reading. Can you use the songs listed to create a greater coherence and could you replicate that experience in the majority of your audience?

Including a playlist could be an awesome way of sharing your favorites or the lesser-known bands/songs…

A number of writers have music playing whilst writing. I’ve used music to block out the rest of the ambient noise and/or to help set a tone. The Shins, Coldplay, Au Revoir Simone, Bon Iver, Massive Attack, Slowdive, Portishead, My Bloody Valentine, Sigur Ros, Goat Rodeo Sessions are a few of my go-to’s for any occasion. I select certain sounds to focus certain stories. That said, my preference is to write in the quiet.

Would I tackle this challenge by writing the story first? or having the songs in mind before diving in. Maybe a little of both. Would I develop a soundtrack, pulling songs and refrains back into latter parts of the book. I’d like to further complicate the assignment by writing it without making it a musical or having a music oriented story either in plot or character. Of course, said complication may come after the first: actually starting.

 

thoughts? would love to hear them...

