{event} picture book month, the third.

on

30 days of pb

November is ‘National Picture Book Month‘ and I may participate in some way again this year, but for my 30-some days of picture books event I started two years ago, I am going to begin today. Those new to my blog or this event: I will post a review of at least one picture book a day. When I place an Illustrator in a spotlight, I usually share two or three of their books. I have every intention posting on other reads and films, but I hope you’ll enjoy the picture books with me. Comment, share your own recommendations.

The picture books reviewed and illustrators spotlighted will be in keeping with my year-long challenge to read books by authors or protagonists often relegated to the publishing world’s margins. I wanted to try to choose books that were not focused on historical persons or events either, which, unfortunately, would have been all too easy. Even so, there are a few…

It is strange, I suppose, to host months on the picture book since the daughter has officially grown out their largest target demographic. Nevertheless, picture books still make their way into our hands and homes. To quote last year’s announcement: “I would argue that it is probably good for your literary diet to indulge in a picture book or five a month–no small children necessary. A well-crafted Picture Book is seriously satisfying.” Those at Picture Book Month assert, “In this digital age where people are predicting the coming death of print books, picture books (the print kind) need love. And the world needs picture books. There’s nothing like the physical page turn of a beautifully crafted picture book.”

I hope you find a few books, authors, illustrators for you and yours. I’m really excited to share some new-to-me authors, illustrators and books, and some long-time favorite creators as well.

 

One Comment Add yours

thoughts? would love to hear them...

