{challenge} once upon a time vii

on

once7mainbannerWith the first days of Spring, not only do we have the pleasure of a snowy weekend, but the Once Upon a Time Challenge returns for its annual meeting of Readers of Fantasy, Fairy Tale, Folklore and Mythology. Carl at Stainless Steel Droppings is hosting a 7th year. As Carl writes:

The Once Upon a Time VI Challenge has a few rules:

Rule #1: Have fun.

Rule #2: HAVE FUN.

Rule #3: Don’t keep the fun to yourself, share it with us, please!

Rule #4: Do not be put off by the word “challenge”.

While this event retains the word “challenge” from its earliest days, the entire goal is to read good books, watch good television shows and movies, and most importantly, visit old friends and make new ones. There are several ways to participate, and I hope you can find at least one to your liking.

onceuponatimequestthefirstnumber7

School has absented me in so many ways, but how lovely that John Milton’s Paradise Lost will do double the work.

I have a new middle-grade fiction and debut author to share, and a review of Marissa Meyers’ Cinder to write.

Braving a heavy snow fall, I have a small, neat stack of Library books to balance coursework over Spring Break:

Mechanique: A Tale of the Circus Tresaulti by Genevieve Valentine

The Hundred Thousand Kingdoms by N.K. Jemisin

Path of Beasts by Lian Tanner

The Girl who Fell Beneath Fairyland and Led the Revels There by Cathrynne M. Valente

The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater

Like all of Carl’s “challenges,” this is not one to be missed, the pleasure of the reads, the reviews, the community… I know many of you are already signed up or considering your level of participation. If this announcement or “Once Upon a Time” is new to you, do come along with us.

“We read fantasy to find the colors again, I think. To taste strong spices, and hear the songs the sirens sang. There is something old and true in fantasy that speaks to something deep within us, to the child who dreamed that one day he would hunt the forests of the night, and feast beneath the hollow hills, and find a love to last forever, somewhere south of Oz, and north of Shangri-La.” – George R.R. Martin

{images for the banners graciously provided by Melissa Nucera}

8 Comments Add yours

  1. Fairyland! I’ve been pushing the first one on everyone. 🙂 Can’t wait to hear what you think of the sequel!

    1. L says:

      I was/am the same with the first one.. I have high hopes for the sequel {fingers crossed} 🙂

      1. I did too, and wasn’t disappointed!

  2. Nadine says:

    Those are some great books on your stack.
    I second the Fairyland-recommendation but I would also push you toward Mechanique, a brilliant book that is not nearly getting enough love from book bloggers.
    The Jemisin trilogy is also very good (though my favorite was the middle book).

    Either way, you are looking at some brilliant reading hours. 🙂

    1. L says:

      thanks for the recommendations and the encouragment (especially with the trilogy as I have been bad about getting to book 2 with most I’ve started). I started both Fairyland last night–very odd dreams, but so pleased how Valentine returns with this sequel.

  3. I’m wanting to read Mechanique too. Probably after I finish the Stardust read along. Tempted to do a read along of Mechanique too just because I’ve been loving the Valentine short fiction I’ve been reading. She is really talented.

    So wonderful to have you joining in despite everything that is keeping you busy. Was watching the documentary Ride the Divide last night on Netflix and was thinking of you guys and Deanna as well because of the obvious cycling connection. Hope all is going well in your world.

    1. L says:

      having read Mechanique has me curious about her short-story work. it has the short story-ist sensibility. WWE is picking up the blog I rambled out about it (one of those really weird ‘reading response’ ones I do). I liked it.

      ride the divide, huh…will check it out.

  4. I haven’t read the others, but The Raven Boys is spectacular. It is the start of an unfinished series, though, so that has to be kept in mind. I will have to look at the others-the Fairyland books are very high on the list due to the amount of people who have recommended them.

thoughts? would love to hear them...

