{life} between

on

20130221-101533.jpg

I wish the above image were me & it nearly is, if one exchanges the most of those stacks to papers. sigh

A quick check-in via the phone app.
I just finished my first Bio Anthropology Exam and am waiting for its Lab–starting an osteology unit. Yes, one of those ‘core requirement’ classes. I have another two of those and they keep my head in aches. Never ever transfer schools if you can help it Liberal Art students.

Said aches and general lethargy (hibernation anyone?) has limited my reading to schoolwork & my screen time to primarily Tuesday film class where I get to watch great films on a big screen–Casablanca (1942), Rules of the Game (1939), this wk was Double Indemnity (1944). Although I did manage Downton Abbey–holy moley!

I am in talks w/ N to guest-post. And I’ve the comics post, WWE, & the SciFi Experience–where I am still managing some time to read some reviews & add to that ever increasing TBR pile (do check out the link & discover some great reviews & reviewers). May sketch out thoughts on my readings and/or class discussions–spare Sean & N a bit of my recitations. Milton, anyone?

Hope you all are well and finding time to snuggle in with your reads.

(image: “cozy” by little ulvar)

7 Comments Add yours

  1. That is a lovely image and one that I wish reflected more of my time too, although I cannot complain too loudly as I do have a lot of time in which to read, especially now that my child is an adult.

    School sounds rough but I commend you for pressing on. I’d like to think I could handle going back if needs be but I’m not sure I have the dedication and work ethic on that front that I did when I was younger.

    1. L says:

      and how are the wedding plans coming along? I’m glad you get the reading time, because I love benefiting from it via your blog.

      I think I should at least have better organizational skills by now to go with the work ethic. deep sigh.

      1. I think it is more difficult now than ever to be organized without severely cutting things out of our lives. There are too many what could be termed “distractions” that all seem valid and important and yet even with the fact that I watch little tv and don’t have to put a lot of effort towards child-rearing I find it nearly impossible to do all the things I should do and the things I want to do. Sacrifices, painful as they are, get made. I just prefer it when I’m the one choosing those sacrifices rather than having things fall apart around me. I’ve experienced both, lol!

        Wedding plans are going great. Very little left to do but wait.

  2. Okie says:

    Very cool image. I can relate (except that I’m a guy so it’s not exactly a portrait). I long for the day when I’ll have an oversized comfy reading chair like that. In the meantime, I huddle down into my LoveSac, prop my feet up and disappear into the stacks of books.

    Your film class sounds like great fun. Good selection of movies. 🙂

    1. L says:

      no tights then? 🙂 the LoveSac sounds good though.

      It is, a bit intense, but great films. We’ve also seen All That Heaven Allows (1955) & Citizen Kane (1941), as well as a few clips and a short wartime documentary out of Britain. Coming up in the next 4 weeks: The Four Hundred Blows (Francois Truffaut, 1960), A Separation (Asghar Farhadi, 2010), The Searchers (John Ford, 1956), and La Dolce Vita (Federico Fellini, 1960). I’ve taken American Cinema and Culture I and II elsewhere, so some of the history is known, but the opening up of all film on a global scale has been really exciting!

  3. I know the feeling! Only I don’t have something tangible in place of my stacks of books, just life in general. Hope you get some more reading time soon.

  4. tuulenhaiven says:

    LOVE that picture. It is very much me, many days this winter.

    I’m jealous of your film class! I need to get myself enrolled in something along those lines. Would be so fun!

thoughts? would love to hear them...

