{non/challenges} RIP VII

on

{RIP images via Gothicrow}

I know I am not the only one who has been anticipating this book blogosphere event: Stainless Steel Droppings’ R.eaders I.mbibing P.eril (RIP)!

The purpose of R.eaders I.mbibing P.eril VII is to enjoy books and movies/television that could be classified (by you) as:

Mystery.
Suspense.
Thriller.
Dark Fantasy.
Gothic.
Horror.
Supernatural.
Or anything sufficiently moody that shares a kinship with the above.

The event runs September 1 — October 31…but why not let it creep in a bit sooner? Check out Carl’s site for more information, and a wonderful intro–I especially adore that epigraph!

As with every year, there is a Review Site where you can peruse participants posts about their reads or viewings. This is a great way to meet people and a fun way to find new books or films and engage in conversations on your favorites. If you haven’t a blog, but would like to post on a RIP experience, let me know and I will likely host you here.

I have been setting titles aside throughout the year in anticipation, thinking RIP would be a good time for them. Now I need to pluck them from cobwebs and stack them more neatly. I am open to recommendations as well. Do you have good atmospheric reads you are looking forward to Imbibing?

A list of potential RIP VII reads (quotes from respective publishers):

Long Lankin by Lindsey Barraclough, “Beware of Long Lankin, that lives in the moss. . . “

A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness (yes, I’m one of the few who’ve yet to read it), “The monster showed up after midnight. As they do.”

Skary Childrin and the Carousel of Sorry by Katy Towell, “Strange things and strange people were no longer welcomed in Widowsbury, for one could never be sure of what secrets waited under the surface . . . “

Anna Dressed in Blood by Kendare Blake, “Just your average boy-meets-girl, girl-kills-people story…”

Grave Mercy by Robin LaFevers, “To claim her new life, she must destroy the lives of others.”

The Lantern by Deborah Lawrenson, “A modern gothic novel of love, secrets, and murder–set against the lush backdrop of Provence.”

My Mother She Killed Me, My Father He Ate Me by Kate Bernheimer

*

Still out on what films/shows and graphic novels; will update with those.

And am looking for recommendations, of course.

 Pretty sure Sean and the daughter will be joining me. Would love it if you would, too!

**********

One need not be a chamber—to be haunted,

One need not be a house—

The brain has corridors—surpassing

Material place—

–Emily Dickinson (1st stanza of “670”)

****************

my “wrap-up” posts from RIP VI and RIP V.

8 Comments Add yours

  1. I’ve really got to join this challenge sometime. Perhaps this will be the year? Maybe.

    1. L says:

      maybe one or two reads?

  2. Jeremy F says:

    My recommendation for you is short and is a graphic novel: I Kill Giants, by Joe Kelly; Art and design by J.M. Ken Nimura. It’s really short though it is not really horror however it is VERY moody and it is maybe psychologically horrifying. Seems your style anyway and if you’re looking for something different, it might fill some space.

    1. L says:

      Will look for it, thanks for the rec! It does sound right up my alley.

  3. Carl V. says:

    I Kill Giants is a great recommendation. Really good stuff there. Someone bought me A Monster Calls last year, not sure if I’ll get to it this year or not but wanted you to know that you aren’t *quite* the last one left to read it. 🙂 We group read The Lantern last year and I really enjoyed it. It wasn’t a perfect book and it had some flaws but I think I liked it more than most of the participants. It was cool because the author saw our group read posts and agreed to answer questions by the readers on my site and that was fun. I always recommend The Thirteenth Tale by Diane Setterfield to those who haven’t read it. It is the very definition of moody and is one of my favorites. If I remember right you’ve read the three Tales of Terror books by Chris Priestley. I so wish he would do another of those books. They are fantastic, especially fun to read aloud to family on a dark, stormy night.

    Great to have you back in R.I.P. I hope you enjoy whatever you choose to read.

    1. L says:

      Your group read is why The Lantern is on the list, but I had lost The Thirteenth Tale along the way somewhere, so thank you. It was on by tbr and has now been refreshed toward the top.

      I am with you on Priestley adding another. I am going to see if the new library has the first Tales of Terror book because the last library did not (which was weird to have 2 & 3 but not 1). I was checking up on Alan Bradley, but alas! we’ll have to wait for February..

      1. Carl V. says:

        That is funny because I just checked up on Bradley the other day as well and was disappointed by the wait…this in light of the fact that I still have the last one waiting to be read, ha!

        I’d recommend The Vanishing of Katarina Linden by Helen Grant as well if you haven’t read it. Young protagonist. Plenty of creepy atmosphere. Good book. Shortlisted for Carnegie.

        The first Priestly book, Uncle Montague’s Tales of Terror is my favorite. So deliciously dark, especially the framing story.

  4. Grace says:

    “The Lantern” is definitely a good choice. If it weren’t for the groupread last year I probably wouldn’t have heard about it, but it ended up being such a lovely fall read. 🙂

thoughts? would love to hear them...

