a known wow

on

In anticipation of World Book Night and the pleasure of handing out copies of Sherman Alexie’s The Absolutely True Story of a Part-Time Indian, Natalya read it for the first time. (And really, wouldn’t have handed it to her any earlier.) She handed it back to me, “Wow. I only have one word for this one: Wow!” I smiled, because that is a good word for the experience of the read. I hope those reluctant readers who receive their copy will find a love of reading and an obsession for good reads.

The Absolutely True Story is a fail-safe recommendation for teen reads, boy or girl, but especially boy. I’ve a few others I consider good ideas as well: Jellicoe Road by Melina Marchetta, Ship Breaker by Paolo Bacigalupi, Marcello and the Real World by Francisco X. Stork… and really any of the books by these authors.

What are your fail-safe recommendations?–books and/or authors?

6 Comments Add yours

  1. Carl V. says:

    I love reading a “Wow!” book. Those are so very special. I would consider The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman a fail-safe “wow” recommendation. Not only for young people but adults as well.

    1. L says:

      yes.. that is a nice choice! I was thinking about making up a few bookmarks to put w/ the books for recommended reads.

      1. Carl V. says:

        That is a really great idea! In the YA category I would also recommend Anya’s Ghost by Vera Brosgol, Dead End in Norvelt by Jack Gantos, Chris Priestley’s Tales of Terror collections, The Magician’s Elephant by Kate DiCamillo, Zoe’s Tale by John Scalzi, Goose Girl by Shannon Hale, and for older teen boys I’d recommend Freaks by Annette Curtis Klause.

  2. Jessica says:

    Wow! I really need to read PART-TIME INDIAN. Hmmm…a fail safe recommendation. That’s hard. My go-to recommendation for people that I know are at least casual readers is I AM THE MESSENGER by Markus Zusak.

    (And, don’t hate me, but I didn’t love THE GRAVEYARD BOOK. *ducks*)

    1. L says:

      won’t hate you.. 🙂 and good reminder of Zusak’s book. I had thought to jot it down after you mentioned it in the podcast.

  3. I’m giving out that book, too! I can’t wait for World Book Day 🙂

thoughts? would love to hear them...

