{challenge} once upon a time on film

on

The other night we thought “hey, let’s watch a film for the Once Upon a Time Challenge…” Okay I thought it, and did I have any ideas as to watch we should watch?! No. We own and watch many a film that fit the parameters of Fairy Tale, Folklore, Fantasy and/or Mythology but narrowing it down became a task. We were not necessarily in the mood for Dark, (nearly 12) N is involved so there was content to consider, we didn’t want to watch something too recently seen, nor did the idea of catching upon on the tv episodes of Once Upon a Time occur to any of us.

We googled for fantasy film lists thinking we really should organize ourselves and get ideas. Wow do people’s opinions vary. But they reminded us of ones we could watch. We are still working out a list. In the meantime…

What are your Top 5 (or 10) Favorite Fantasy Films?

(notice, I said “favorite” so they needn’t be the “best-made”)

__________________________________

in our list search, we came across io9’s “70 Science Fiction and Fantasy Films to watch out for in 2012

we can vouch for The Woman in Black, The Hunger Games, and The Secret World of Arrietty.

Sean needs someone to see Cabin in the Woods; Abraham Lincoln, Vampire Hunter; & another Resident Evil with, but we are both looking forward to:

Eagerly: Prometheus, Brave, Lock-OutThe Dark Night Rises, Frankenweenie, and The Hobbit!!

In theater or no??: The AvengersTotal Recall, Gravity

Inexpensively: Mirror Mirror, Snow White and the Huntsman, The Amazing Spider-Man (wasn’t gonna, but the trailer has appeal), Looper (J.Gordon-Levitt is in it),

__________________________________

{image: Princess Mononoke by Yaphleen (check out her work)}

8 Comments Add yours

  1. Carl V. says:

    I’m anticipating the same movies as you have in your “eagerly” category. Maybe not Lock-Out as much, but I still wouldn’t mind going out on a week-night and seeing it on the cheap. Could have potential. Also wouldn’t mind catching Mirror Mirror while it is out.

    Don’t have any interest in the Spiderman reboot. It is too soon and I just don’t care.

    As for Top 10 favorite fantasy films, in no certain order they would be:

    1. Lord of the Rings trilogy
    2. Pan’s Labyrinth
    3. Labyrinth
    4. MirrorMask
    5. The Fall
    6. The Princess Bride
    7. The Never-ending Story
    8. City of Lost Children
    9. Robin Hood: Prince of Thieves
    10. Ladyhawke

    With arguably a few exceptions I tried to keep anything that crossed too far into a science fiction or horror bent or anything that had just touches of fantasy. So films like Underworld, Amelie, John Carter, Coraline, etc. got left off the list.

    1. L says:

      Ladyhawke is on our list of to-watch this year, but our last owned copy was vhs! need to watch Amelie again, it has been awhile, we are big fans of Audrey Tautou.

      Lock-Out may end up a dollar flick, but I adore Guy Pearce in a way that makes Sean sigh with husbandly annoyance.

      1. Carl V. says:

        Audrey Tautou is just a doll. Love her. I’m not sure I’ve ever walked out of a movie theater in as much pure bliss as I did after seeing Amelie for the first time.

        I will probably see Dark Shadows in part because, even though I’ve only watched some of it, I consider myself a fan of the original and because I am a big Burton fan. I don’t have high hopes though.

        And I’m crossing my fingers that Whedon will make me care about the Avengers film.

  2. I’m excited to watch The Avengers if only because it’s in the hands of Mr. Whedon. And it goes without saying that Batman and The Hobbit will be a theater viewing. I’m also kind of curious to see how Dark Shadows is going to turn out, though my expectations aren’t necessarily high. Same goes for the Spider-man reboot.

    Favorites? (This was harder than I thought, and in no order.)
    Lord of the Rings Trilogy
    Aladdin
    Big Fish
    Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire
    Monty Python and the Holy Grail
    (or maybe Prisoner of Azkaban?)
    Shrek
    How to Train Your Dragon

    1. Carl V. says:

      I almost put How to Train Your Dragon on my list, Logan. That is a great one.

      I’m looking forward to Avengers for the same reason, and have enjoyed the other Dark Knight films. I’m getting burnt out on superhero flicks, but these are still must-sees in the theater.

      1. L says:

        yes, tired of super-heroes.. and I agree that the re-boot for Spiderman is way too soon. It may just be shelved until I’m ready, but I am excited by the cast, and that they are going with early story lines in the Spiderman saga.

    2. L says:

      yours is a good list too, Logan!!

      I have every hope in Whedon pulling The Avengers off! Looks like a good year for Whedon, The Cabin in the Woods, The Avengers, and I think another Dr. Horrible’s Sing-Along!!

      I love Tim Burton, but Dark Shadows is unfortunately set in a time period that has zero appeal for me.. and I’m a bit angsty about the story-line (as seen in trailers)…no doubt I will see it, if only on DVD/Streaming. course,

      1. Aye, a great year for Whedon. I’d read that the Dr. Horrible’s sequel was underway, though working out schedules and finishing up scripts were still to be done. I think I’m more excited about it than anything else, honestly.

thoughts? would love to hear them...

