{sunday} 02.12.12

on
the darkside set : pop life postcards

Outside my window: thank you mister groundhog: winter is indeed finally here.

I am listening to: Sean is catching up on Grimm (tv) and Natalya is playing with a mousetrap.

I am reading:  I picked up vol 1-7 of the manga series Pluto by Naoki Urasawa and Osamu Tezuka. “A new vision based on Astro Boy–‘the greatest robot on earth’.” I’m not much a reader of manga, but I read a review on the first few and was intrigued; the sci-fi aspect didn’t hurt for The Science Fiction Experience Carl V. at “Stainless Steel Droppings” is hosting. Remarkable by Lizzie K. Foley an ARC handed to N by her teacher whose wife thought N would like it.

I am thinking: dinner was yummy, chicken curry.  I’m getting a lot of overlap in my classes, which is good, but that means I am pretty occupied and everything outside is drawn in. I was really difficult to live with when I was learning critical approaches to literature, and later film.  I am surrounded by scary smart people (and dog) in my house.

Favorite things of the week: a date with the husband (to see The Descendants; not exactly romantic, but nice). N working with her dad on her mousetrap car for Tech class. We drove down to the in-laws to use Grandpa’s shop and she got to play mad-science with him, too. I got my fin aid refund, finally!! Listening to The Muppets do a barbershop “Smells like Teen Spirit” (Nirvana) and laughing with Sean–again. Playing Mario Kart on the Wii with the family and later a friend.

Around the House: the dog was sick, but it was only the day–very gross. N has a mousetrap project at school she is working through at home. she’s also been practicing for chair test in orchestra this week. Sean is settling in at his new job and we drove down to pick him up and have dinner. Me: school stuff; and figuring out how to balance my time.

Things I hope to accomplish… a better balancing act.

Music this week: The Killers, Aqualung, Pete Yorn, Foo Fighters, Bon Iver, and was introduced to Greylag via a single “Black Crow” off a new album out in the Spring The Only Way to Kill You (an Indie Folk out of Portland OR). This video of a song off the same album: “Alive and Beautiful.”

Screen Talk: caught up on The Finder (tv), and saw The Descendants (2011) in the theater Saturday night. otherwise, tv was dedicated to Mario Kart, and even then… Need to catch up on Downton Abbey, among other things.

Links: Me (& omphaloskepsis) at tumblr

Use Pinterest? I’m there (Leslie Darnell). but have you considered using it as a Librarian  or Blogger? this article suggests five ways to do so. 

Which Downton Abbey character are you? My Quiz result was Lady Mary Crawley (her wardrobe please).

“Book Riot” hosted an article “Sixteen Things Calvin and Hobbes Said Better Than Anyone Else” by Ed McCracken. love them. a particular fave: “Calvin: Sometimes I think the surest sign that intelligent life exists elsewhere in the universe is that none of it has tried to contact us.”

The New Yorker‘s Lauren Collins posted this amusing article “Karl vs Adele.” that would be designer Karl Lagerfield.

AND “Minimal Movie Posters” on tumblr.

_________________________________________

{images: (1) the darkside set (silver limited) by pop life, etsy shop; found via Pinterest. (2) The Descendants (2011) poster.}

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Suey says:

    I remember making a mouse trap car in school. Ah the stress. My son recent had to make a rubber band car, and could do anything he could think of. They (my husband helped) ended up using cds for the front wheels and old records for the back. Wow, that was quite the car! I should have taken a picture.

    I’m now using pinterest to at least post my book reviews. We’ll see if that means anything.

  2. L says:

    they used cds due to size restriction, they talked 45s otherwise.

    Book Riot seems to use it for their ‘bookish things’ kind of posts and cover love, which I find to be a good idea. I’m thinking about a “cover lust” board, at the very least for myself.

  3. Kailana says:

    I use Pinterest to pin books I want to read. It’s basically my wish list. It is just so easy, so that’s what I do. I very rarely do much else on there. Too many time sucks if you get into everything.

thoughts? would love to hear them...

