with anticipation…

on

Carl V. at “Stainless Steel Droppings” is hosting his annual Science Fiction Experience: January 1-February 29.

A few years back I decided I would like to invite other readers to spend time together to:

a) Continue their love affair with science fiction
b) Return to science fiction after an absence, or
c) Experience for the first time just how exhilarating science fiction can be.

This event was not to be a challenge. It was not a dare nor was it a contest. It was meant to be anexperience, a word I did not choose at random. The very best connections with books are more than just a detached reading, they are an experience–an immersive, engaging interaction between the reader and the characters and events between the covers.

Science Fiction is a genre I dip my toes in once in a while, last year was fun so I was happily anticipating the Experience’s return. This is a great opportunity to take notes from other Reader’s reviews and comments on the books they’ve chosen to experience and find something new or interesting in this vast genre. Borrow some enthusiasm if you would like some as a reluctant Sci-Fi reader, geek out with your fellow genre fans if you are not reluctant in the least.

The Daughter said she would join me this year. She harbors an ever growing love Science Fiction. So while I will be picking up John Scalzi’s Old Man’s War, [at Carl’s recommendation] N can try Zoe’s Tale. We kinda talked about reading further into the Orson Scott Card’s Ender’s Game series, as N has read Ender’s Game several times now. We’ll see. Am betting we can find a video game or two to toss into the experience.

Check out Carl’s post, keep updated on reviews posted, and join in the fun!

One Comment Add yours

  1. Grace says:

    I can’t wait! I’m trying to keep myself from reading my books for this before January, lol.

thoughts? would love to hear them...

