let’s see here

on

The end of 2011 is upon us, and I’ve been thinking about 2012. I’ve every intention of being mad busy in ways unrelated to this blog, but neither do I want to lose the momentum I’ve been slowly building with “omphaloskepsis.” In the coming weeks, I will likely pitch a not so random idea here and there. Meanwhile, feel as random as you like in the comments or drop me an email (omphaloskepsis [at] stonhaus.com) with ideas of your own as to what you would like to see more of here–or less, if you can be kind.

>>One spinning idea has to do with overcoming  a few fears, particularly in respect to my writing. Yes, another book-blogger with aspirations and/or sordid history. If only I were as bold as most. Anywho, this launching myself off cliffs has already begun with the not necessarily friendly gesture of offering a short story for others’ commentary. As I’ve been trying to figure out what to do with it, I thought someone else might have a clue–short of burning it.  As for another potentially threatening gesture, I was thinking of serializing a significantly less grim story here on the blog. I have a few pieces to choose from that I think could work for this sort of project; though any story I would put up would likely be drafted roughly enough to invite input. I’m thinking of formulating a few synopses and a poll and letting you all decide; and yes, there will be the voter option of “please, please, don’t do this.”

 

{image: Nicoletta Ceccoli‘s The Tower}

4 Comments Add yours

  1. ibeeeg says:

    I hear you about being mad busy, and sigh…I do not do well being that busy. I wish you a fabulous week(s).

    I like your spinning idea. It will be interesting to me to see where you take that idea. I do like your writing, so, I imagine that I will like what you post…or at least see the potential that is there underneath seeing how you may be posting some drafts. I applaud you for even thinking of this spinning idea.

    1. L says:

      thanks–for your encouragement and confidence. 🙂

  2. It goes without saying, but I’m a proponent of posting original writings. It’s gutsy, I think, and sometimes painful, but it builds character and forces you to grow. Other than that, I enjoy the book/film reviews, and have added a few books to my TBR on your recommendations.

    1. L says:

      I do take a great deal of encouragement from your willingness to put your work out there. I also enjoy the reading I get to do.

      glad you add to your TBR from here as it seems only a fair trade. 🙂 thanks.

thoughts? would love to hear them...

