early/late

on

The Best of 2011 Lists are starting to pop up.

Just in time for Holiday Shopping?

This makes me feel bad for late in the year releases.

Do we get to count the previous year’s November/December in with the next year’s Lists?

Makes me think about film awards and how dearly release dates are considered. Timing really can matter.

What do you think?

And when do you start calculating your own Best of’s?

image credit .

3 Comments Add yours

  1. I generally try to reserve Best Of lists for the last week of the year. Prior to that, it just seems like I’m potentially snubbing the remaining days/weeks. I don’t fancy seeing Best Of lists this early in the year, either. Likewise, I don’t fancy lauding a January 2012 release as a Best Of 2012 so early, either. It’s almost as if “Best Of” is meaningless, as so often many of our English words are.

  2. Suey says:

    I like to calculate my own best of’s in that lovely week between Christmas and New Years. But I think you are right, those lists are timed for Christmas shopping of course.

  3. Carl V. says:

    This is way too early. For me my best of reads have to be looked at right around Christmas time. I like to post it the week between Christmas and New Years. I generally don’t look at any early posted ones until that week too. Its sort of a holiday tradition after nearly 7 years of blogging.

thoughts? would love to hear them...

