challenged/banned books week eve

on

It is the eve of Challenged/Banned Books Week.

This is one of our favorite family events of the year.

I sat down on Wednesday to peruse lists and shelves to decide which books I will read this year. We’ll see how many I will get to this year but I culled a few more YA options this time. I usually try to read one threat to young-adult-kind and one threat to all humanity.

YAOlive’s Ocean by Kevin Henkes. Angus, Thongs, and Full-Frontal Snogging by Louise Rennison. Staying Fat for Sarah Byrne by Chris Crutcher. (I think there may be a contest going between Crutcher and Walter Dean Myers to see who can get more books on the Challenged list; oh, and Lauren Myracle.)

Toni Morrison’s The Bluest Eye; shamelessly culled from my TBR pile.

********************************

Last night, Natalya sat down with the American Library Association site, and Powell’s Books’ site to make her own list. We went over her proposed reads, most of which reside on Teen Shelves, because she’s read (and re-read) many in the Juvenile Section and so the usual conversation was revisited. She very eagerly started Judy Blume’s Tiger Eyes last night.

N usually tries to fit in at least one classic, but mostly she wants what she always wants–a good read. And for Banned Books Week more than any other time of year? To maybe flaunt a book someone said she shouldn’t read.

*******************

Sean, because he is Sean, seems to always be reading something someone would find wildly dangerous…even his Architectural Theory books.

***********************

Check out the ala.org site for book lists and activities; check out this year’s brochure which lists this year’s info, and also Powell’s Books has a few on-line aisles to browse. I found this short list of comics/graphic novels at Huffington Post. In addition, most are talking about M.K. Reed and Jonathan David Hill’s Americus  (First Second, 2011) a graphic novel about a book banning–one our Library has yet to get.

4 Comments Add yours

  1. cyclebabble says:

    hey! i’m not completely objectionable… i’m just drawn that way.

  2. Carl V. says:

    “but mostly she wants what she always wants–a good read.”

    N. is a girl after my own heart. That is all I ever want out of my reading as well. I don’t want to be challenged, educated, stretched, etc. with my pleasure reading.

    Now don’t get me wrong, those things do happen and I enjoy it very much, that is just not the thing that inspires me to pick up a book in the first place, as it does for some. I pick up a book because it seems to me that it might just be a good read. And if it is and just so happens to do some of those other things, wonderful.

    1. L says:

      knowing that a book can be a pleasurable read and challenge, educate, and stretch, etc. causes me to be disappointed when I go to read something recommended that will do those things and I find it a chore. Usually those reads can only find redemption in a conversation with someone. Am I spoiled to think a book can do all the above?
      Due to the volume of books challenged, it is easy to support this week without trying too hard. There are a few popular ones that are just poorly written and I don’t feel in the least obliged to read.

      1. Carl V. says:

        I agree, there is really something for everyone on the banned books list.

        I don’t often pay enough attention to things that tell me of how challenging, educating, etc. a book can be mostly because I doubt I read the kind of books anyone feels that way about. But I know what you mean. When you do hear something on, say, NPR and the book sounds amazing and then you start to read it and it is dull or dry or just doesn’t engage I too wonder if books can be both ways, entertaining and more than just entertainment.

        I suspect that the books I find to be challenging, educating, etc. are only that way for me because I find something in them that gives me that extra interaction besides just entertainment.

thoughts? would love to hear them...

