about writing and reading among other things

on

I’ve been on a bit of a writing jag and if all goes well, I might have a first draft of something longer than a short story done in the next three days. This is unheard of because I edit as I go and then get bored or tired or lost.

Sean and N have been very supportive of my random questions, character dilemmas, and the time spent hunched over the computer, usually elbowing one of them off it. Then there is the housework. But for the blog, it is the books that have felt some neglect. And I have some great ones to read:

Wildwood by Colin Meloy (j) [a Powell’s Books and Portland (miss you) recommendation. Lead singer of Decemberists wrote this Narnia-ish adventure. He uses “irretrievably” I keep wanting to say “irrevocably,” but we’re getting along really well thus far.]

Darth Paper Strikes Back by Tom Angleberger (j) [N has already read this and assures me it is good!]

The Sisters Brothers by Patrick deWitt [thanks Powell’s Books again for a great looking recommendation. Am going to get my NorthWest fix.]

Girl in Translation by Jean Kwok [forget at the moment who suggested this, but I read the first bit and it reads like liquid;looking forward to continuing.]

Chicken with Plums by Marjane Satrapi (gn) [because I enjoy her work.]

Knucklehead by Jon Scieszka (j-ish) [“Book Nut” reviewed this the other day and I thought a laugh sounded good.]

Wonderstruck by Brian Selznick (j) [whom I am giving another try. Except I didn’t know this book was so massive (608 pages). Do we need full page images to feel immersed? And can we quit calling The Invention of Hugo Cabret “trailblazing?” I will be fair. I will be fair. Am hoping to be struck by wonder.]

And then there is R.I.P. VI :

Tales of Terror from the Black Ship by Chris Priestley (j) [per Carl V.’s recommendation for N (and me), but the library only had the one–the second one. But never fear, I will be finding the others. Meanwhile…]

The Road by Cormac McCarthy [I’ve been meaning to read this one, and what better excuse than a R.I.P challenge? Yes I saw the film and can still recommend it, though it is not for the faint of heart or stomach.]

Frankenstein by Mary Shelley

Edgar Allan Poe.

For Peril on the Screen: I’ve yet to figure out what I will be watching–other than Doctor Who [did anyone else tear-up Saturday, or fall a little more in love with Rory and Amy?–sigh.–I mean, didn’t you love the response to the refusal of a first inoculation?–scary!]

Sean watched M. Night Shyamalan written, John Erick Dowdle directed Devil (2010) on a lark. He said it was awful, and awfully predictable, as we thought. I would walk by periodically, to and from the computer, because I was writing. I kept wanting Keanu Reeves and John Constantine to show up and save the film.

Speaking of Peril for the Screen R.I.P. participants, did you see Logan’s review of Rodrigo Cortes’ Buried (2010) the other day? Do. I’m working up my nerve to watch it.

14 Comments Add yours

  1. ibeeeg says:

    Wow L! That is a lot of books for reading. I did not finish one book in August and looks like I will be lucky to finish in September the book I was reading in August and maybe one more. I need to change up my routine here, but finding that difficult.

    Elliana and I will be reading Tales of Terror from the Black Ship together this Autumn. We read the book before this one, and it was an excellent read. I do believe that you and N will greatly enjoy these stories.

    Congrats on your writing jag. That is fantastic. I have been thinking of starting to keep a writing journal for myself as I would like to improve in this area; writing.

    Sorry that I have not been around much. I have not been around the blog world much on the whole. I miss “chatting” with you, and plan restart my blog visits.

    1. L says:

      I have missed you! but I figured this is a busy time for you and your household. We’ve the one, and the routine still has some time consuming glitches.

      There is a lot to read and will likely take me through October. really, if I can read a tome like The Way of Kings or a Wheel of Time installment, that would count for a good 12 novels.

      is good to see you. I need to get better on emailing…even my twitter has dropped off.

      btw. Seeing such a heartwarming and happy post yesterday in celebration of your lovely daughter was a real highlight to an otherwise somber day. thanks for sharing her birthday with us.

  2. Hey hey, Wildwood is waiting for me in the pile, if only because Meloy’s name is on it and I’m curious. Coincidentally, Josh Ritter, another of my favorite musicians, has released Bright’s Passage, and I intend to read his novel just to see if he writes prose as eloquently as he does lyrics.

    Keep up the writing! I’ve been working on an extensive outline (something I rarely do) with the hopes of actually producing a full-length story as well. Here’s to hoping.

    Good luck with The Road. I loved it. It was my first (and only) McCarthy encounter, but it was good enough that I immediately added Blood Meridian to my TBR.

    And nerve is required for Buried. Oh, and btw, I’d recommend waiting to watch it after N’s a-bed, due to some rather coarse language and, uhm, another reason. Good luck if you watch!

    1. L says:

      Meloy is adept, but not as lyrical as I anticipated. I wouldn’t have necessarily made the connection had I not known; like there are books where after you find out they publish poetry and you go, “of course!” I am about half-way through. Having lived in Portland Oregon, I’m really enjoying the Portland flavor; and I think he does a great job of transporting the reader there.

      thanks for the encouragement. I try to do outlines, even after I start and begin to try to keep track of cast and places, etc… I suck at keeping to them…but they are pretty helpful guides. I wish you well.

      I hear All the Pretty Horses is a good read, too. better than the film. I started No Country for Old Men but the first bit was just so violent. We’ll see after The Road.

      you are scaring me Logan! lol.

  3. Carl V. says:

    How exciting! Congratulations. I’m glad you are able to get a lot of writing done. And house cleaning? Isn’t that what you had a child–servant–for? LOL!

    Not a fan of Hugo Cabret? Not sure if it was trailblazing, but I liked it a great deal. Excited about the movie too. I’m actually looking forward to reading Wonderstruck. But I too wish it was shorter, just because I have too many thick books waiting to be read.

    For some reason I was thinking of Kate DiCamillo while writing this. Have you or N ever read her books? I am particularly fond of The Miraculous Journey of Edward Tulane and her more recent book, The Magician’s Elephant.

    Glad you found one of the “Terror” books. It can all be read without having read Uncle Montague, only the person who shows up at the end will make more sense if you’ve read UM. But really not that big of a deal.

    We’ve been watching a lot of Midsomer Murders for our Peril on the Screen. And of course we watched the latest Jane Eyre over the weekend.

    1. L says:

      saw your review of Jane Eyre. Had hoped to see it in theater, but… ah, but I will be watching it very very soon! thanks for the suggestion/reminder.

      Wonderstruck is long, but a good portion of it are full page images. the pages of text have good-sized margins. As for Hugo Cabret, I was bored by it mostly; which isn’t to say that the story wasn’t a good idea or that the art was bad because that is very far from the truth…

      We love Kate DiCamillo in our house. I actually cry pretty much every time I read The Miraculous Journey. I read and reviewed The Magician’s Elephant–lovely lovely book. I really like her other style as well, the one that produced Tiger Rising and Because of Winn Dixie (love love this one).

      lol. you are right, housekeeping is what the daughter is for…

      1. Carl V. says:

        Tiger Rising is good. I think Because of Winn Dixie is the only one I haven’t read of these. Fun film. Always meant to read it but haven’t…yet.

        I bawl like a baby when I read Edward Tulane. Got kind of choked up by Magician’s Elephant to. It is just a lovely story.

        I think part of my fascination with Hugo Cabret is because I am intrigued by early film work and amazed at what George Melies accomplished and also because I like clocks and clockworks. Those aspects alone kept me turning the pages.

  4. Carl V. says:

    Oh, and I loves me some Jon Scieszka. Have you read It’s a Book yet? (You may have posted about it, can’t remember)

    1. L says:

      I haven’t! But I am writing it down–thanks!

      1. Carl V. says:

        Super funny, and sweet. Can’t believe I haven’t bothered to review it.

  5. Kailana says:

    That’s a lot of good looking books there! Good luck on your writing. 🙂

    1. L says:

      thank you!

  6. So glad to have found you via Suey’s BBAW post. Sounds like you have quite the stack of books to get through. Good luck with that!

    1. L says:

      I’m glad you found me, too! and thanks for the well-wishes as I really do want to find the time for these.

thoughts? would love to hear them...

