Septembers Eve and R.I.P. VI

on

Happy September’s Eve!

It’s that lovely time of year that is not only about back-to-school, exhaustive heat-waves, and the inundation of DIY Halloween food/craft projects–Oh, Pinterest, you, too?!  It is that lovely time of year when Carl V. over at Stainless Steel Droppings is hosting his Reader’s Imbibing Peril Challenge.

As Carl writes,

“it is once again time to revel in things ghostly and ghastly, in stories of things that go bump in the night. It is time to trail our favorite detectives as they relentlessly chase down their prey, to go down that dark path into the woods, to follow flights of fantasy and fairy tale that have a darker heart than their spring time brethren. To confront gothic, creepy, horror stories in all their chilling delight.”

From September 1st through October 31st Readers will indulge in reads of these flavors:

Mystery. Suspense. Thriller. Dark Fantasy. Gothic. Horror. Supernatural.

You can visit participating blog sites to read reviews and to partake in great conversations; no blog required. Enjoy a wonderful community of readers, make some new friends, find some delicious new reads.

There are different reading challenges aka Perils; and even one for Screen. [And I do think Logan (at Rememorandum) makes a brilliant suggestion of perhaps adding a Peril for Picture books/Graphic novels]. The RIP Challenge is fun and easy.

Again, you may participate in one or all of the various Perils. My one demand: enjoy yourself! ~Carl

Last year I read:

The Gashlycrumb Tinies by Edward Gorey

House of Leaves by Mark Z. Danielewski

Dracula by Bram Stoker

Stitches: A Memoir by David Small (graphic novel).

The Replacement by Brenna Yovanoff (ya)

Coraline by Neil Gaiman.

Fragile Things (a collection of Short Stories) by Neil Gaiman.

The Melancholy Death of Oyster Boy and Other Stories by Tim Burton.

Half-Minute Horrors edited by Susan Rich.*

and watched:

Monster House (2006) dir. Gil Kenan*

The Corpse Bride (2005) dir. Tim Burton*

Coraline (2009) dir. Henry Selick*

Sleepy Hollow (1999) dir. Tim Burton

Der Krieger und die Kaiserin (The Princess and the Warrior, 2000) dir. Tom Tykwer…It was creepier and more mysterious the first time I watched it; is still odd. w/ subtitles.

El Libertino del Fauno (Pan’s Labyrinth, 2006) dir. Guillermo del Toro. w/ subtitles.

Legion (2010) dir. Scott Charles Stewart.

On the Television: Doctor Who (those weeping angels are terrifying)*,Torchwood (esp. season 3)

Even the daughter participated, the above asterisks being shared, and claiming these two as well:

School of Fear by Gitty Daneshvari and 43 Cemetery Road: Dying to Meet You by Kate Klise and M. Sarah Klise (though “its not scary,” she reminds)

What will I read/watch this year?

I think I can manage Peril the First, the 4 book challenge. And I really hope to actually read some Poe this year.

Last year I said I would read Mary Shelley’s Frankenstein, so there is that. I’m sure I’ve littered notes here and there in anticipation–I just have to find them. And then there are those great lists by fellow bloggers of suggestions, past reads, and their own to-be-read. I will post a list soon, will of course take recommendations, and may have a few suggestions of my own that would make for a wonderfully atmospheric RIP read.

I’m ready (nearly) are you?

**************

Melissa Nucera allowed Carl to use her Artwork for this year’s banners. I think they are brilliant. Carl finds the best work to set the tone. I mean, anyone who has seen the “Don’t Blink” episode can never look away from a Weeping Angel the same way again.

9 Comments Add yours

  1. Suey says:

    Oh my is it really time for this already? Awesome! 🙂

  2. Will this be your first time with Frankenstein? If so, I hope you savor it. If not, I still hope you enjoy it. I look forward to the review.

    Looking forward to all the many great and terrible reviews, actually, from you and the plethora of bloggers that flock to this wonderful challenge.

    1. L says:

      yep. at least as a whole all the way through. I have managed somehow to have gotten parts of it. am looking forward to it, though.

  3. Carl V. says:

    Looking at your list from last year, especially what you watched, makes me want to take a week off just to watch all the dark and atmospheric films I’d like to cram in during these two months.

    I am super happy that you are participating again this year and look forward to seeing what you decide to read and watch. And of course I know I’ll enjoy reading whatever you have to share about those things. You can always hope they don’t send me on some long discourse. Ha!

    Have fun during the challenge, and don’t blink.

    1. L says:

      as i believe I make apparent quite often, I love a long discourse! am glad to have met you and this very amusing challenge Carl!

  4. Kailana says:

    Great list! Enjoy!!

  5. Sleepy Hollow was a great movie.

    Here is mine

    1. L says:

      true, it is very likely we will watch it again this year!

  6. tuulenhaiven says:

    Weeping Angels indeed. GREAT artwork. I’m looking forward to getting scared with you and the rest this season!

thoughts? would love to hear them...

