the europa challenge

on

“I started the challenge along with my friend Liberty, a bookseller from New Hampshire; neither of us is affiliated with or employed by Europa Editions; this is a fan project from two die-hard Europa fans looking to share these great books with our fellow readers and bloggers.” ~Boston Bibliophile

The Boston Bibliophile did a “Publisher’s Spotlight” series on Europa Editions this year, and has posted some reviews of their books. It is fun to see her take this another step further—and we are all invited to join in!

Diversity is the word of late, and Europa Editions make this easy, as the authors are from many different parts of the world and are setting their writing in their culture. Most of the books are translations from another language. Better, the writing is good, so you are not suffering while reading to educate and/or expand your horizons. I am hoping to find a few new authors and be required to do some cultural homework.

I spent some time perusing the Europa catalog online and made a list of ~15 books. Of those the Library here has 3. Seems this will be a challenge on more than a few levels. I am not daunted. However, in the meantime I will be organizing said list by how much a book interests me and keep up with the reviews others are writing. Oh, and sign up.

Check out the Europa Challenge and see if it something you might like to do, or even just follow. There are several different levels and ways to tailor the challenge to suit your time and interests. And maybe some of the reviews will introduce you to a next great read!

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Carl V. says:

    It is odd how coincidences work. When I saw your post I had that ‘deja vu’ feeling. Why? Because just yesterday I was blog hopping and saw a review of Jonathan Yardley’s book, Second Reading, which is something I absolutely *must* read. And I remember seeing the Europa label on the picture of the book.

  2. L says:

    Second Reading wasn’t on my list, but I might add it. just read a review on good reads, as that cover certainly deserves a second look.

    and I agree, it is odd how coincidences work.

  3. Carl V. says:

    Not sure if you’ve ever been over to Danielle’s site, but her review/discussion of it is here:

    http://danitorres.typepad.com/workinprogress/2011/07/dipping-into-second-reading.html

  4. L says:

    I haven’t, so thank you for the link. I will read her review and likely several more. 🙂

thoughts? would love to hear them...

