once upon a time (the 5th)

on

Carl V. over at Stainless Steel Droppings is hosting his The Once Upon a Time Challenge again this year. I say again, but this will be my first year participating. It looks like fun, and it looks doable. I am amidst two qualifying books right now! The Name of the Wind by Pat Rothfuss and A Tale Dark & Grimm by Adam Gidwitz.

The Once Upon a Time Challenge has a few rules:

Rule #1: Have fun.

Rule #2: Have fun.

Rule #3: Don’t keep the fun to yourself, share it with us, please!

Rule #4: Do not be put off by the word “challenge”.

The daughter agreed to do this challenge with me, which is no challenge to her at all. Can we read a Grimm themed book without her recognizing the tale from Grimm’s own telling? That is a good challenge. Reading more Fantasy might be the challenge…

The Once Upon a Time Challenge includes 4 genres: fantasy, fairy tales, folklore and mythology. Yes, I will be looking into some of the differences.

Check out Carl’s site for the details and the different challenges. I am debating which one(s) I will do… If you are participating which challenge are you doing?

The challenge runs from March 21st through June 20th. You don’t have to have a blog to participate, and if you would like to post on a read, I will likely host you…that would be fun.

********

I was so pleased to see that Carl is using Anne-Julie Aubry’s artwork. She has a shop on etsy: the nebulous kingdom, and her blog is wonderful too. If, when dropping over to look, you feel the need to purchase something for me, anything will do..:)

7 Comments Add yours

  1. Kailana says:

    I really enjoyed The Name of the Wind when I read it last year. Enjoy your reading!

    1. L says:

      thanks! it is slower going because the husband and I are reading it aloud together, but enjoyable, just have be more patient is all…
      Looks like you’ve an excellent reading list to work from for the challenge.. may have to borrow a few. happy reading!

  2. Carl V. says:

    So great to have both you and your daughter participating this year. I’m almost done with Name of the Wind (80 pages left) and hope to finish it sometime tonight. Although I am anxious to read the next book I’ll probably intersperse that reading with some other books I am dying to read.

    Glad you are a Anne-Julie fan. She is wonderful, isn’t she?

    1. L says:

      I think we are a fifth of the way through?! reading aloud slows it down a bit…
      hope your wife is doing okay after the scare the other day.

      Anne-Julie is wonderful. I keep thinking I should take one of her prints and write a story to go with it. I think a short story (a short short story) book with her picture would be fun.

  3. Stephanie says:

    So glad that you decided to join up with us for Carl’s challenge – I’ve been participating in this and Carl’s fall RIP challenge for the past couple years and love them both! Happy reading!

    1. L says:

      thank you! this last RIP challenge was the first challenge I’ve tried in the book blogosphere and really enjoyed it, Carl is an excellent host. happy reading to you, too!

  4. I’ve bought some of Anne-Julie’s stuff before. It’s so pretty! Hope you enjoy the challenge.

thoughts? would love to hear them...

