this week’s end

on

In keeping with my unfortunately review-free week here at omphaloskepsis, this post is not a review either.

After getting all the things needed done around the house and errands and zine stuff I have a  book to read. A Red Herring without Mustard : a Flavia De Luce mystery by Alan Bradley came in at the Library yesterday!

I hope to get a lot done this weekend.

That said. I do want to post about this:

Last week I was looking at my Concenter List (note the above page tab) and was feeling bad that I am so behind, not even one review a week, which was my most modest goal.  I looked at the 2011 list and decided it’s the end of February and that it isn’t a bad time to work on the January releases. I created a sub-list of books that interested me the most, or at least did not create disinterest, e.g. Overt Teen Angst, regardless of color, creed, or community, set in the contemporary or even in most historical;  such are all too easy for me to Resist.

This is the sub-list I made:

Camo Girl by Kekla Magoon

Across the Universe by Beth Revis

The Great Wall of Lucy Wu by Wendy Wan-Long Sheng

The Star Maker by Laurence Yep

Words in the Dust by Trent Reedy

Eliza’s Freedom Road by Jerdine Nolan

Clara Lee and the Apple Pie Dream by Jenny Han

The Trouble with Half a Moon by Danette Vigilante

Tiger’s Curse by Colleen Houck

Freedom Stone by Jeff Kluger

Daughter of Xanadu by Dori Jones Yang.

All but the last three were not a part of the Library’s Catalog. I requested the three and have since received the last two. Some of the authors of the first 8 do have their earlier books available, so I will continue to return for a second and third look.  I hope to report that the majority of my list will make it into my public library. I have zero book budget and I am looking forward to some of these reads. Meanwhile…I have a few to start with, to get myself back on track.

One Comment Add yours

  1. Marie says:

    I love that moment when you realize you’re caught up on chores & errands and it’s like, ahhhhh time to read!

thoughts? would love to hear them...

