an experience

on

Carl V. over at Stainless Steel Droppings is hosting The Sci Fi Experience 2011.

Carl V. writes:

I want to provide, here at Stainless Steel Droppings, an environment in which science fiction connoisseurs and science fiction layman can come together and discuss books in a non-judgmental, non-threatening manner.

Again, this is about an experience. More than anything I want to encourage people to have fun experiencing just how exhilarating science fiction can be.

Unlike the challenges I host other times during the year, there are no specific number of books to shoot for. This is simply an opportunity to get together as a community and share a love of science fiction…and to hopefully spark a love of science fiction in those who have yet to be bit by the sci fi love bug! I will, however, have the Short Story Weekend option for those who want to read science fiction short stories in addition to or instead of science fiction novels.

The Sci Fi Experience 2011 takes place from January 1st, 2011 through February 28th, 2011. There is a review site for those who want to post links to any science fiction novel/short story/film/television reviews that take place during the Experience.

This non-challenge sounds like an exciting thing. I will probably view Sci Fi more than read it, but I am browsing my shelves and Library pile for books just the same.

Are you participating? What do you think you might read or watch? I am already thinking at least one of Philip K. Dick’s work–as if one should have an excuse. I may dig around for a few past reads in juvenile/middle-grade fiction to share. Otherwise, I shall just go with the flow: enjoying the posted reviews by other bloggers, share a few of my own and participate in a few conversations here and there. Sound good?  Blogger or no, join The Sci Fi Experience 2011.

Check out Carl V.’s site, he has a sidebar where links to reviews will be kept so we can read and comment at leisure.

**note**

I am willing to take recommendations. Is there a seminal text or film I should be experiencing? Or one you are curious as to what I might think about it? I would love to consider your suggestions.

the Art for the banner is Les Edwards' Cygnus. Fantastic, isnt' it?

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Dune is the first book I think of when I think about seminal sci-fi books. I read the first one in high school, enjoyed it, but haven’t read any others from that series. (I hear after the 3rd, the rest is awful.)

    Personally, I love the STAR WARS Expanded Universe. If you like STAR WARS and would be interested in this, I’d strongly recommend Heir to the Empire by Tim Zahn.

    Also, CS Lewis’ Out of the Silent Planet was pretty good, too.

    Good luck!

    1. L says:

      funny you mention Dune as I was just saying the other day that the closest I will get to that epic will be audio-book (the newest set); though I am wondering if I should read them at all as I think the husband has relayed most of it–he is wonderful that way. I think he would argue that past the 3rd there is value, though he admits a few contain these unexplainable digressions; his best friend would argue that after God Emperor (book 4) all was lost and that said the fourth was the best. I think you are right though, if I want to take sci-fi seriously I should attempt Dune in some fashion.

      I’ve a friend that tends to not read sci-fi on the whole but suggests Lewis’ Out of the Silent Planet as well. Will have to check that one out.

      thanks for the recommendations.

thoughts? would love to hear them...

