re-shelving

on

The Best of 2010 Reads…a link-a-palooza!

The book lists…Oh how poorly recorded you were… thank goodness for goodreads.com that I had anything down. I am going to be more organized in 2011. And while I say I will be better organized every year I certainly will in 2011. I set up a spreadsheet! ta-da!

In 2010… I read quite a bit; just over a hundred books, (thank you goodreads.com) A smidge over half the books read would be considered Juvenile Fiction; and I “reviewed” a good portion of them. What began as a reading Juvenile shelves with the daughter (9, then 10) became an enjoyable venture of my own. I realized in looking back on 2010 that between the Juvenile Fiction shelves and not being at University, my “Grown-up” reads suffered to somewhere about 21. Young Adult Fiction was a tic less at ~19. I am happy with the amount of Comics read in 2010. About 22% of the reads were comics/graphic novels; about half were Juvenile Fiction. While I read more Historical Fiction without the aide of syllabi, I don’t recall many non-fictional (non-comic) forays outside of cookbooks. Not sure if that will change.

I read more 2010 publications than I thought I would get to (I had no illusions about keeping “current”) and still many that I read that were published before pushed 2010 dates to secondary and tertiary lists. YA is difficult because I tend to avoid Contemporary Fiction on those shelves and Paranormal are of no real interest—I like Dystopian but waiting lists and all…I am looking forward to the surge of Dystopian Lit continuing into 2011–though, how much can one take in a recession?!

L’s The Best Reads of 2010: (in no particular order, and they just shook out into 3s)

Comics:

Amelia Rules! [the whole comic series to date] by Jimmy Gownley; one of the greatest finds for me in 2010. ( a review )

Calamity Jack story by Shannon and Dean Hale, Art by Nathan Hale (Bloomsbury, 2010).

The Adventures of Rabbi Harvey by Steve Sheinkin (Jewish Lights Press, 2006).

Juvenile Fiction:

The Lost Conspiracy by Francis Hardinge (Harper Collins, 2009)

The Magician’s Elephant by Kate DiCamillo (Candlewick Press, 2009)

Faeries of Dreamdark Series, book 1: Blackbringer (G.P. Putnam’s Sons, 2007) & book 2: Silksinger (G.P. Putnam’s Sons, 2009)  by Laini Taylor.

Young Adult:

Marcelo in the Real World by Francisco X. Stork (Arthur A. Levine, 2009)—is the reason why my wrap-ups wait until the year ticks up to midnight; will post “review” soon (considered YA.)

Jellicoe Road by Melina Marchetta (HarperTeen, 2006), (considered YA); one of my most read posts.

The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins (Scholastic, 2008).

“Grown-up”:

The Carpet Makers by Andreas Eschbach (translated, Tor, 2005); thank you, Sean.

The Way Through Doors by Jesse Ball (Random House, 2009); thank you, Katherine.

The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie by Alan Bradley (Delacorte Press, 2009); thank you, Carl V.

Reads that were close in company to the above:

Stitches: A Memoir by David Small (W.W. Norton & Company, Inc., 2009.); gn.

Chiggers by Hope Larson (Atheneum, 2008); gn/J.

The Danger Box by Blue Balliett (Scholastic, 2010); J.

The Strange Case of Origami Yoda by Tom Angleberger (Amulet, 2010); J.

Milo: Sticky Notes and Brain Freeze by Alan Silberberg (Aladdin, 2010); J.

Ninth Ward by Jewel Parker Rhodes (Little, Brown, & Co., 2010); J.

One Crazy Summer by Rita Williams Garcia (Harper Collins, 2010); J.

The Red Umbrella by Christina Diaz Gonzales (Knopf, 2010); J/YA.

A Little Wanting Song by Cath Crowley (U.S.-Knopf, 2010), YA; thank you Adele at “Persnickety Snark.”

Birthmarked by Caragh M. O’Brien (Roaring Book Press, 2010), thank you Steph Su Reads.

The Midwife’s Apprentice by Margaret Atwood, originally published 1985…took way too long to get to this one.

The Wild Things by Dave Eggers (McSweeney’s Books, 2009).

Difficult, but mostly worth it, House of Leaves by Mark Z. Danielewski (Pantheon, 2000)

New (to-me) Authors I look forward to burdening my TBR piles:

Melina Marchetta; Francisco X. Stork; Cath Crowley; Jimmy Gownley; Caragh O’Brien; Laini Taylor; Christina Gonzalez; Rita Garcia Williams, Jewel Parker Rhodes; Alan Bradley; Jesse Ball;  Joseph Helgerson (Horns & Wrinkles); Carolyn Cohagan (The Lost Children); Hope Larson; Julia Alvarez (Tia Lola Stories); Kirsten Tacy (Camille McPhee Fell Under the Bus); Jacqueline Kelly (The Evolution of Calpurnia Tate); Dawn Lairamore (Ivy’s Ever After); Alan Silberberg; Tom Angleberger…

Already appreciated Authors who kept the love alive with the 2010 publications read:

Kazu Kibuishi (Amulet Series, book 3 ); Blue Balliett (The Danger Box); Eoin Colfer (Airman); Cornelia Funke (Reckless); Annie Barrows (Ivy + Bean: book 7); Suzanne Collins (Mockingjay); Nancy Springer (Enola Holmes Mysteries); Alan Bradley (Flavia de Luce Mysteries); Susan Patron (Lucky Breaks).

***********

In 2011, I anticipate a decline in the amount of books read. I want to get back to more “grown-up” reads and tackle the unread books on the shelf, and read or (re)read a few classics. I am also challenging myself to read some of those massive tomes and series from the Fantasy shelves—naturally that will gobble up the shorter juvenile/comic reads.  Also, I am job-hunting and who knows what hours or energies the work I find will require. I do know that I do not want to speed-read just to cram them all in. I know, so many books, so little time…

evening reads with the daughter:

That could be recalled in 2010: The Hobbit and The Lord of the Rings Series by JRR Tolkien; The Lost Conspiracy by Francis Hardinge; and a re-read of Harry Potter and the Deathly Hollows by JK Rowling.

These were Fantastic! Looking forward to 2011, here. And  the daughter is really wanting to host the read aloud for some stretches. Last night we interupted our slow start to Douglas Adams’ Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Universe with N reading the first handful of chapters of Kathryn Erskine’s Mockingbird (after which we all went to bed thoroughly depressed).

illustrators followed

I hope to follow more Illustrator’s works into great reads. 2010 was primarily Nicoletta Ceccoli and Sophie Blackall; inadvertently noted: Yoko Tanaka and Jim di Bartolo. May find a few more and follow where that takes me.

reading challenges (of the blogosphere sort)

This was the first year to try a blogospheric challenge and I only did one: Readers Imbibing Peril (RIP) V Challenge hosted by Carl V at Stainless Steel Droppings. It was great fun, and led to finding more great blogs to follow and some friends on said blogs. Hope to do more in 2011. Carl V. is hosting a Science-Fiction Experience now, check out his site, or return here as I will have more on that later.

I think this will do for today. I’ve reading and writing to do.

5 Comments Add yours

  1. Ari says:

    I’m so glad the list at Color Online was helpful to you, consider joining the poc reading challenge to keep track (if you even decide to read any of those books).

    I LOVE Marcelo in the Real World. I wish everyone would read that book. The Last Summer of the Death Warriors (his 2nd book) is excellent too. I adore Ninth Ward and I’m thinking One Crazy Summer is going to win some awards this year. It was very good. I want to read more adult fiction this year too but where oh where does the time go?

    Good luck with the job hunt!

    1. L says:

      i will consider joining the poc reading challenge!

      i am writing up my thoughts on ‘Marcelo’ now, i agree, it is a book everyone should read, i now have a great love for francisco x. stork that will have me reading ‘The Last Summer’ soonest.

      thanks for dropping by!

      ~L

  2. Yay for spreadsheets! (But also for Goodreads, too.)

    Good luck with the fantasy tomes you’re planning on diving into.

    1. L says:

      thanks… and thanks to you and a few others, Brandon Sanderson is on the list Sean is reading on Robert Jordan’s ‘Towers of Midnight’ that Sanderson worked on.

thoughts? would love to hear them...

