holiday wishes…

on

Happy Holidays!

to: me

from: Missie @ The Unread Reader.

I had thought that I would read Stephen King’s The Dark Tower Series first, but I may switch that.

Although…I think I could read King’s first because by the time I am through with both George R.R. Martin’s A Dance of Dragons (the 5th book of the Song of Fire and Ice Series) will likely not be out even then (poor husband is in torment over this fact). I really hope Mr. Martin is taking good care of himself.

I really like Missie’s bookmarks, too. And there is no debating what to do with them.

I started Room by Emma Donaghue yesterday afternoon. Have you heard of it? I am having the darnedest time reading it’s ‘5 year old’ speak. I kept trying to recall if N talked like this at 5 or 3? and did it matter?-no. Needless to say, I am adjusting. One ‘Unread Reader’ bookmark.

The second is presently in The Red Umbrella by Christina Diaz Gonzalez. I started it last night, late, because  I wanted to read and Room is creeping me out and I didn’t want to continue it into the evening.

I am really enjoying The Red Umbrella. I had to force myself to put it down as it was getting really late. And the day is getting away from me after picking it back up this morning after getting N off to school. Almost finished, what with chores and all…and napping from being up late…after starting the read when I should’ve been sleeping…

anyway.

The very tantalizing A Game of Thrones is under the undecorated tree. I should probably start it before The Dark Tower, right? Seeing as it is a gift an all. A lovely gift.

Hope your tree has a good stack of books beneath it this Christmas!

 

you’ll check out Missie’s blog…great looking site! I think mine should have some work done with the new year.

9 Comments Add yours

  1. ibeeeg says:

    You are going to down the road of A Song of Ice and Fire…yay! I love, love, love that series. It is not perfect, but oh so sweet. I feel your husband’s pain with the waiting of the next book, but I can wait. I hope you like the book. A Game of Thrones is my favorite, and if not, very close to my favorite in the series…. yeah, probably my fav of the series. I really am enthralled with GRRM’s writing…his characters are something else. Can you tell that I would vote for you reading this book before King’s? Yep, I do vote that way. 😀

    Have fun reading.

    1. L says:

      your vote sways me…

  2. Very nice. GRRM’s A Song of Ice and Fire is definitely one of the finest fantasy reads out there. Its characters are very memorable, as is its plot. (Some of it is rather vulgar, if that’s a concern to you. But for the most part, this is rather negligible.) I highly recommend this series, but am hesitant due to GRRM’s s l o w n e s s . . . .

    The Dark Tower was a pretty good series, too. I might even say a great series but for a few idiosyncrasies. A few things were ridiculous, as Mr. King is apt to do, but the general story was excellent, and that is the truth! Plus, this was a fun read, too.

    Whichever path you choose, you’ve got plenty of entertaining reading ahead of you.

    By the way, I see you’ve succeeded in NaNoWriMo this year. Congratulations!

    1. L says:

      thanks for insight, on both series… I guess I should start on Martin’s so I can be up with televised series expected soon? but then there is The Dark Tower televised in the offing as well…

  3. tuulenhaiven says:

    I haven’t heard of the Martin series, but I’ll be investigating. You’ve reminded me that I need to finish The Dark Tower series – I’ve read and enjoyed the first 2 books.

    I’ll also congratulate you on completing NaNoWriMo. I did it some years ago, but my little sister has completed it 6 years running. So inspiring – both of you! 🙂

    1. L says:

      I’ve read the comics that came out as a prequel to the Dark Towers series. they are quite beautiful. and the husband does think I will like the series, glad to know you think it starts off well.

  4. Missie says:

    Hey L,

    I’ve heard mixed things about Room. Every time I see the cover, I want to pick it up, but I’m very apprehensive. I’d be interested in your thoughts on it once your through with it.

    Let’s challenge ourselves to finish GOT before the HBO series is in it’s final season. 😉

  5. Margot says:

    I couldn’t find an email address for you so I thought this would be a good place to come and say thank you for MY Secret Santa gift. I’m very happy with my two new Louise Penny books. Also tell your daughter that I love my M notepad. It’s nice to “meet” you. Hope your holidays are happy.

    1. L says:

      I am glad you received your gift. …I realized after that I hadn’t put my e-mail anywhere on the card–oops!

      I thank you for dropping by. Hope you have a happy holiday season.

      ~Leslie

thoughts? would love to hear them...

