wrapped

on

It was a great challenge Carl V. at Stainless Steel Droppings hosted. I thoroughly enjoyed Readers Imbibing Peril V. Looking forward to next year. I already put Shelley’s Frankenstein on the list.

To wrap it up.

“Read four books, any length, that you feel fits my very broad definition of scary.”

I was happy to meet the two big personal goals of House of Leaves and Dracula.

The Gashlycrumb Tinies by Edward Gorey

House of Leaves by Mark Z. Danielewski

Stitches: A Memoir by David Small (graphic novel), hadn’t planned this, but it fits.

The Replacement by Brenna Yovanoff (ya)

Coraline by Neil Gaiman. The book is scarier than the film.*

Didn’t read as many as I thought I would. Didn’t read any Poe at all (for shame!):

Fragile Things (a collection of Short Stories) by Neil Gaiman. Contains some good and creepy stories.

The Melancholy Death of Oyster Boy and Other Stories by Tim Burton.

Half-Minute Horrors edited by Susan Rich.*

“This year I have added an addition Peril, and that is for those who also like to watch suitably scary, eerie, mysterious gothic fare during this time of year. It may be something on the small screen or large.”

Monster House (2006) dir. Gil Kenan*

The Corpse Bride (2005) dir. Tim Burton*

Coraline (2009) dir. Henry Selick*

Sleepy Hollow (1999) dir. Tim Burton

Der Krieger und die Kaiserin (The Princess and the Warrior, 2000) dir. Tom Tykwer…It was creepier and more mysterious the first time I watched it; is still odd. w/ subtitles.

El Libertino del Fauno (Pan’s Labyrinth, 2006) dir. Guillermo del Toro. w/ subtitles.

Legion (2010) dir. Scott Charles Stewart. wasn’t planned but was viewed before Oct 31. response to it?–meh.

On the Television: Doctor Who (those weeping angels are terrifying)*, Torchwood (esp. season 3)

***

(the daughter, as a version of Alice)

N read/watched everything asterisked plus:

School of Fear by Gitty Daneshvari

and 43 Cemetery Road: Dying to Meet You by Kate Klise and M. Sarah Klise (though “its not scary,” she reminds)

****

R.I.P. V was a fun challenge.

I found some new blogs, made a few friends, was a good seasonal treat.

Thank you–everyone who participated (read a lot of great reviews) and those who dropped in to chat here (was encouraging).

5 Comments Add yours

  1. ibeeeg says:

    This was a fantastic challenge! Glad that you had fun too!

    I agree, Coraline is much scarier in book format than in the movie…creepy.

    You watched a lot movies/shows. One day I will be able to dig into that format of storytelling. For now though, my 7 and 4 year old keeps all of that at bay for me except for their stuff which really does become a bit bothersome at times too.

    You know that I love Torchwood, and lately I have been thinking that I should try and catch some Doctor Who especially since I have recently seen Neil Gaiman tweeting about the show.

    Love your daughter’s version of Alice. Did you see the movie with Depp? If so, how did you like it? I liked it; we own it have viewed it a couple more times already.

    Enjoy the rest of Autumn! 🙂

    1. L says:

      I do watch a lot of tv/film, though a lot less than used to. I was working toward a film minor via the English dept…lots of fun classes to include Critical Approach to Film. What I learned has helped me enjoy films more, though at times, there are drawbacks. Anyway, we talk films/tv like books with the daughter–though we try to limit tv time. I can imagine finding screen time and what you watch is tricky with more than one child and of differing ages.

      We started with Doctor Who because Sean watched it with his dad when he was N’s age…and N was ready to enjoy being frightened a little (though some episodes are quite scary, to me). I love David Tennant as the Doctor. Matt Smith is good, different, but, I adore David Tennant–anyway, they are fun, and more family friendly than Torchwood (of course).

      As for Alice. We have watched and now own Burton’s version. It is wonderful! Alice in Wonderland is one of N’s favorite books, she figured Alice had to be a bit mad herself, so she was acting a bit crazy for halloween in that costume; she had fun with it, though the wig itched.

      RIP was the first Challenge I’d tried. I think I should do another…

thoughts? would love to hear them...

