nanowrimo…

on

I am participating in nanowrimo (national novel writing month) again this year. For those unfamiliar, nanowrimo is said to be “thirty days and nights of literary abandon.”  Really, it is a challenge to write at least 50,000 words of a story of novel length–a challenge to hammer out that difficult first draft–during the month of November.

The activity garners some criticism. Found some great “posters” on google images from “101 reasons to stop writing” :

Other images read: “Anyone can be a writer, if you set the bar low enough.” and “It’s all fun and games until you expect someone to read it.”  While humorous, they are bit off-target for plenty of participants.

My intentions: to have some fun with friends and improve my discipline.  Last year, I improved my discipline for sitting down and logging hours and words. And I actually wrote some pretty good stuff…but I never expect anyone to suffer that first draft. The first draft is always mine.  This year, I hope to re-invigorate that discipline, as it lagged a bit after I was weary from the second round of editing.

The daughter is going to participate in the Young Writer’s Program. She is finishing her first Mystery novel, but she challenged herself to write new Mystery this month. We worked through the story idea yesterday as a family. I am excited to see her work.

Really, Nanowrimo for her is for us to do the activity together, and she wants to do the Write-Ins (where you go and write with other community nanowrimo-ers). She found a pick-up game in nanowrimo.  N has good writing discipline, and has an excellent grasp of how a story works.  As a Writer, she doesn’t set a low bar for herself. And I hope to see her surpass her 10,000 word goal.

While participating in nanowrimo with a fairly last minute story idea (again), I also have every plan to maintain this blog, and still read. I think this may be good for my dear blog readers as surely the posts will be much shorter?

nanowrimo and young writer's program

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Best of luck. I don’t think I’ll be participating this year, but I may, just may, if I’m feeling very lucky. I made it to 30k words last year. It was fun, but I don’t think I have the time this year.

    1. L says:

      Thanks. It does help that I am not working or going to school this month.

  2. Carl V. says:

    I wish you all the very best. I can’t imagine anything that helps focus a person and perfect their craft and discipline can be a bad thing.

  3. ibeeeg says:

    Very neat that you are doing this. I wish you inspiration, and discipline.

    I did not know that they have a program for young writers. I showed this to EJ, my 11 year old. She loves to write, and she likes to participate in community writing as well. She seems very interested in trying her hand at this. unfortunately, at the moment, she is sick so she probably would not start until she is feeling better. Still though, a focused effort sounds like a fantastic idea. I hope your daughter has a good time writing this month.

thoughts? would love to hear them...

