gluttony?

on

The daughter and I went to the Library Wednesday.

Since we went after school we drove. Really, we had said we would try to walk to it as it is blocks and blocks but not too many blocks away. We’d said that we would only get what we could carry between the two of us. As it was we barely managed to make it to the check-out scanner. Now we will add that we will not just pick books and put them in the library bag as we drag it down the aisles behind us.

How many books do you average per week?

I tend to go and pick up holds and browse a short bit with the daughter if she is with me. When she is with me, we both extend our arms as far as we can to accommodate interesting reads. The daughter is growing, which means her arms are as well. And the number of skinny books she can find!

I had to stop by the Library to return books this time. No holds. And I was not even half way through the dense endeavor of Mark Z. Danielewski’s House of Leaves. Just the same, I thought they had said they had a copy of a book I’d been looking for checked-in.

I came back downstairs where we’d agreed to meet and she announced she had 15books! And then I asked if she had picked some in Spanish. She added two more. Then I remembered one we’d talked about recently, “do you want to wait on Coraline?” She added one more. Then I sent her to check-out while I wanted to see about one more thing: The Porcupine Year by Louise Erdrich. N likes the Little House on the Prairie books so… I didn’t realize The Porcupine Year was a book 3, so I had to get the first two as well–right? And they had all three.  Then I remembered we had talked about The Frog Princess at the bookstore, that it was a start of a series Tales of the Frog Princess, and we liked E.D. Baker’s The Wide-Awake Princess. The Library had the whole series (or most of it). I came downstairs with two books: A Little Wanting Song by Cath Crowley and David Small’s Stitches: A Memoir. Since N already checked-out…

Can you tell we’d just come from a Library Branch that rarely had what we were looking for on the shelves, we had to request and wait?

Do you have a limit on how many books to maintain during your three-week check-out time? I know Libraries are generous, but do you have a personal limit.

Honestly, we try to only check out what we can read.

I’ve been thinking maybe we should arm ourselves with an empty page and a working pen and write down those books to go back for… Maybe we should only walk to the Library, and more frequently…

the above pic by the talented Alicia Bock. Her etsy shop here.
***
books mentioned: House of Leaves, Coraline (j), The Porcupine Year (j), 
The Frog Princess (j), The Wide-Awake Princess (j), Just a Little Wanting Song (YA),
and Stitches: A Memoir (GN).

6 Comments Add yours

  1. Gotta love library trips. My mom used to take me when I was little. I’d spend hours just browsing, enjoying the time there. Now, I feel the same way whenever I go (and whenever I have the time) to the library or to a bookstore. Just being among books, all the unread potential… it’s thrilling. There are so many things to explore, so many words to read, worlds to find, plots to unravel, and a library trip is the cheapest way to do so, not to mention how important they are to the community. Ah. Gotta love ’em.

  2. Leah Farmer says:

    Growing up my mom took me to the library once a week. I too took home as much as I could carry. By 1st grade I had read LITERALLY every book in the children’s section. It got to the point that the librarians held every new book so that I could read them first and keep my record for having read all the books. They were thrilled when I began to move to chapter books! 🙂

    1. L says:

      awesome! I had an image of Matilda (of the film) with big brown eyes and a bouncing cloud of curly black hair pulling a red wagon teetering with books.
      glad your mom and the librarians fostered your love of reading… and that it was wonderfully eclectic.. as it still is today.

  3. Carl V. says:

    I don’t really ever limit myself on what I check out and always have more than I will actually get to. Right now is probably the least I’ve ever had checked out at one time all year. I have 15 items, 5 or 6 of which are DVDs, and twelve items on a hold list that I am waiting for. As long as no one has put an item on hold we can renew them online twice, which means you could technically have a book out for 2-3 months, so that adds to my ease when it comes to schlepping out whatever my heart desires.

    1. L says:

      i do love the fact a person can re-check out a book for so long. it was especially helpful for all those Lit classes I had to take. I got most all my books from the Library and could usually re-check them out. The Graphic Novel course was a bit tricky, but as long as the syllabus didn’t change overly… now if I could only get more than two those newer release rapid reads at a time…

  4. Carl V. says:

    Up until recently our library treated all books, dvds, etc the same. Now they are instituting a policy that any item with a 100 or more requests for holds will be limited to a shorter, 14 day check out time. So that could be something new, but also something older that suddenly everyone wants to read or watch for some reason.

thoughts? would love to hear them...

