R(eaders) I(mbibing) P(eril)

on

I have decided to take on a challenge. I’ve seen many different sorts of challenges on many different sorts of blogs and I finally decided to do one. I found the R.I.P. V challenge via Sue @ It’s All About Books yesterday.

The R.I.P. stands for Readers Imbibing Peril. (I do love the clever implementation of the word imbibing.) The V stands for 5…as this is the 5th year of the challenge Carl @ Stainless Steel Droppings is hosting.

The R.I.P. Challenge runs Sept 1-Oct 31 and involves this:  Read a book or four or fewer of any length that fits any one or four or more of these descriptors: Mystery. Suspense. Thriller. Dark Fantasy. Gothic. Horror. Supernatural.

There are different levels of Peril offered. Check the site to see what each involve. I like that Short Stories are included because there are some fantastic options there. And Carl V. has included Peril on the Screen this year.

Last night I browsed the book shelf here at home for some potential reads. I will browse others’ lists and the Library shelves for more later. I also told the husband about the challenge and he liked the idea. Will talk to the daughter when she is back from her school trip, but I am sure she is game.

The List of Potential Reads (thus far):

Novels: House of Leaves by Mark Z. Danielewski (was already on the TBR shelf)

Frankenstein by Mary Shelley

Dracula by Bram Stoker

Turn of the Screw by Henry James

I may (re-re-re) -read Henrik Ibsen’s A Doll’s House (a play) because I find it creepy.

Comics: The Crow by James OBarr (once I figure out where it went)

Short Stories: We’ve our collection of Edgar Allen Poe and The Cask of Amontillado is a particular favorite.

Charlotte Perkins Gilman’s The Yellow Wallpaper

Nathaniel Hawthorne’s Young Goodman Brown

Ursula K. LeGuin’s the Ones Who Walk Away from Omelas

Flannery O’Connor, Kate Chopin, William Faulkner, Jorge Luis Borges, Italo Calvino…

From the (slightly) shorter person in the house’s shelves (and reads for myself, perhaps):

May Bird (all 3) by Jodi Lynn Anderson–a favorite series of books containing Pumpkin who is among the top 5 of my most loved characters of all time.

Coraline by Neil Gaiman–sure The Graveyard Book is fantastic (and fitting) but Coraline genuinely creeped me out and scared me but good.

Half-Minute Horrors edited by Susan Rich–a collection of well-known authors writing short short horrors. There is one that involves dead babies and lasagna and it was horrifying. N loves this book. One a day?

Similarly, the very fun Little Lit: It Was a Dark and Silly Night , Art Spiegelman & Francoise Mouly collects comics by known artist/authors.

The Joy of Spooking by P.J. Bracegirdle–fantastic read.

For the best and creepiest villians ever to chase a protagonist: Alex and the Ironic Gentleman by Adrienne Kress.

I am going to take on the Peril on the Screen because more and more I avoid scary films. The first films that came to mind are these and I will probably stick to them. I haven’t seen them in a while either:

Der Krieger und die Kaiserin aka The Princess and the Warrior (2000, dir. Tom Tykwer, w/Franka Potente & Benno Fürmann)

À la folie… pas du tout aka He Loves Me…He Loves Me Not (2002, dir. Laetitia Colombani, w/ Audrey Tautou)

And I will probably watch a Hitchcock Film.

The Peril is on the Screen so this includes television shows and after watching several episodes of “Doctor Who” I am including these and will perhaps write about one…really, the “Weeping Angels” episode that I saw the other night was one of the creepiest thus far…and then there were those mannequins coming to life, and those metal masked santas…

note: a digression:

Have I mentioned that we have been watching “Doctor Who” with the daughter (mainly Sean is; he and his dad watched the older series together)? We decided N was old enough now, being ten, and we started her on the 2005 series at season 2 with David Tennant (who is wondermous). We are at the finale of season 3 (or is it 4). The daughter suggested maybe she would like to be The Doctor for Halloween this year, another Halloween-ish challenge, we’ll see.

Have you heard that Neil Gaiman is writing (well, it is practically done) an episode for Doctor Who this new season?  The third episode I believe. His journal here.

note: and we are back:

If you’ve any suggestions for reads one must always read this time of year, do comment. comment regardless. And really, check out the challenge. It sounds like spooktacular fun.

10 Comments Add yours

  1. Jessica says:

    Wow. That is quite the list you’ve put together. I’m R.I.P.ing it up this year too. I hope to be able to get to DRACULA – it’s been on my list every year I’ve done this challenge, and I’ve never read it!

    1. L says:

      Figured I would start ambitiously (though I admittedly did not consider the word count on ‘House of Leaves’)
      I look forward to your take on ‘Dracula’.. wouldn’t mind switching out on my list if you’ve a good and chilling read to recommend.

  2. Sharie says:

    Sounds spooky. I am sitting here thinking that in our house of many books, we don’t own a single one that fits into any of the RIP categories (mystery, suspense, thriller…) except for Anna’s Sisters Grimm books. This is a genre that neither Joe nor I gravitate towards. Do you have a suggestion for a newbie?

    1. L says:

      most of the ‘spooky’ reads on our shelf belong to Sean; though Natalya and her growing love for the macabre will soon outpace him.
      edgar allen poe is ever a brilliant start, though, as a southerner, you would feel the full benefit of the southern gothic genre. there are lovely short stories by: William Faulkner (A Rose for Emily), and Flannery O’Connor (ala A Good Man is Hard to Find)–will have to think of more.

      I perused a few other RIPer’s lists and then read a few synopsis: these are on many and sounded interesting: The Vanishing of Katharina Linden by Helen Grant; The Woman in White by Wilkie Collins; The Historian by Elizabeth Kostova (on several lists); Her Fearful Symmetry by Audrey Niffenegger; The Little Stranger by Sarah Waters (even the cover is atmospheric ala The Others). And this one had the most intriguing title: Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie by Alan Bradley.

      If you read any, let me know…or you could do a short write-up and I’ll feature you?

  3. Kate says:

    Wow, great list! Every time I see The Turn of the Screw on someone’s list I want to read it all over again. Dracula is also on my list, and several others too I’m sure. I look forward to hearing what you have to say on your picks! Happy reading to you.

    1. L says:

      I will dwell over Henry James’ sentences and paragraphs, he is lovely, lovely. In that Half-Minute Horrors I mentioned, someone drew two frames from that scene by the pond where she sees the old governess across the water and so she shields the children. It was a chilling illustration for those familiar with the story.
      Happy reading to you as well, and thanks for stopping in–look forward to future comments/conversations

      1. Kate says:

        Oh…chills. I wish I had my copy handy. One of my goals for this year was to read more James since I’ve only read that story, and I haven’t yet touched anything else. But for now I’m off to bed with a book that…well, I can’t lie, it’s going to be nowhere near as chilling as The Turn of the Screw.

  4. sean says:

    so love, i’m going to be here supporting your chilling reads and watches with my own. i’m thinking that i want to reread Haunted and Diary (or Lullaby) by Chuck Palahniuk and then switch to Lovecraft as we get closer to Halloween.

    also, as i mentioned last night, i think that if we read a book that has a film adaptation we should watch the film (example: Dracula, as it has been mentioned by you and your readers, has several very accessible film versions). this gets difficult with some of the titles on your list, but i thought it worth a shot.

    at least that is what i’m intending.

  5. Kailana says:

    Good list, there. I hope you enjoy them!

    1. L says:

      thank you! I’ve started “house of leaves” and admit it has been a daunting enterprise; fortunately it hasn’t prevented my catching up and finishing a few things.
      took a quick gander, you have a lovely looking blog, btw.
      ~L

thoughts? would love to hear them...

