sources

on

Jessica, over at her blog The Bluestocking Society has this really fun series called Readers Uncovered where she asks a panel of readers tough questions about reading. This week’s question is “What is your most reliable source of book recommendations, and how did it earn that status?”

Ever since moving from living just a block from a massive City Library– and ever since I’ve stopped taking classes at the University– along with scanning book lists and Powells emails, I have come to rely on book blogs quite a bit.

Here are a few of the ones I enjoy the most (in alphabetical-ish order):

The Bluestocking Society; Book Addiction; The Book Nut; Boston Bibliophile; Fledgling; Fyrefly’s Book Blog; The Graphic Classroom; Guy’s Lit WireIt’s All About Books; Persnickety Snark; Shelf Elf; Steph Su Reads; Vivian Lee Mahoney; Welcome to My Tweendom.

There are few I check periodically and a few I’ve just recently looked at  and am still becoming acquainted so I didn’t list them above. With the large number of book blogs available, I’m sure to missing some good sources of recommendations and bookish conversations in general. So, if you want to leave a suggestion for a fun and useful book blog in the comments, please do. And, of course, if any of the above are unfamiliar, check them out.

*photograph by Alicia Bock, her shop at Etsy.

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Jessica says:

    Aww. Thanks for mentioning my feature, as well as my blog. Book blogs are a huge part of my book recommendation sources as well.

    I noticed that you’re reading EAT, PRAY, LOVE. I hope you enjoy it!

    1. L says:

      your welcome.. have enjoyed your blog for its reviews and extra fun features like the questions and the ‘literature 101’.

  2. Marie says:

    THANK YOU for mentioning my blog! That’s so sweet of you. I love the other blogs you mentioned, too, especially Fyrefly and Fledgling. A good one that I think isn’t as well known as it deserves to be is Almost Insider, almost-insider.blogspot.com. A Hungarian blogger named Anni reviews European literary fiction- she’s great!

    1. L says:

      Easily done, I do enjoy following your blog and think most would.

      reviews of European lit? does sound wondermous. I will check Almost Insider out, thanks for the rec.

thoughts? would love to hear them...

