new

on

(Sean’s shelf for his Architecture and Art Books. Yep, overflowing. But still looks more put together than our other; which I was in charge of organizing).

We moved into a new place this past weekend. By new place I mean a newly rented cute little house in a new-to-us little college  town.

It has been busy.

The house is nearly unpacked by now. The husband and I compromised. He wouldn’t try to unpack and hang pictures and completely set up the house in the first 72 hours (straight) and I agreed to try to get everything done this first week. He starts work at his new job Monday.

The daughter had to start school on Tuesday after getting evaluated for the bilingual immersion program the day before after unpacking the truck the day before that and sleeping on the floor the night before then. I have been trying to be helpful in unpacking her room without setting it up for her–you know, now that she has strong opinions about her room and all, being 10–okay, so she has always had a strong opinion.

Of the many things to get done, we had to check out the local library, of course. Even as N is unpacking her books she is asking after the Library. When the world is spiraling, she has her great-grandma’s quilt, baxter the stuffed animal puppy, and books. Have I mentioned before she always carts around books?–just in case.

There is a Library within walking distance, but it is just far enough that I do not look forward to carting all the books we tend to get back and forth; especially during the long winter season. The daughter is confident–even as she had me carry half her books from the library to the car the other day. (We drove to get our cards after school.)

Her haul?

Favorite Fairy Tales Told in Norway retold by Virginia Haviland, Illustrated by Leonard Weisgard.

The 39 Clues: The Black Circle, Book 5 by Patrick Carman

Dork Diaries: Tales from a Not-So-Popular Party Girl by Rachel Renee Russell (Diary of a Wimpy Kid knock-off for Girls?)

Horns and Wrinkles by Joseph Helgerson

Ranger’s Apprentice: The Burning Bridge, Book 2 by John Flanagan

If You’re Reading This, It’s Too Late by Pseudonymous Bosch (N loves these).

I found Elizabeth Gilbert’s Eat, Pray, Love on their version of the ‘rapid read’ shelf. You may of heard of this book? I am joining the reluctant reader’s group and giving it a try. Like Vampire Lore, I try to avoid reading Travel Narratives–thank you professor Arante for a very educational term. I also picked up Jeff Smith’s Bone; the first 3 of his graphic novel series: Out From Boneville, The Great Cow Race, and Eyes of the Storm. Again I am being driven by popular opinion with these.

See how modest my selection? Mostly I realized how many books I own (many via Sean) that I need/want to read! I dedicated part of my top shelf to rotating through TBRs.

Sean had the biggest haul. He is an ambitious one. Ready?

Douglas Coupland’s: Eleanor Rigby; Microserfs; JPod; The Gum Thief, and Generation X: Tales for an Accelerated Culture.

and Arthur Philips’: Prague, The Egyptologist; and Angelica.

*** (There is not much organization to those shelves. Though I think I did group some based on color. I notice how many novels Sean favors (and those favored by men in general) involve the color orange.)

I really liked this post by “Boston Bibliophile” blogger Marie about her Home Library and her desires/goals. While not all our books will make it out of boxes, I think some more may have to return to a box. Either way, hope to post another pic sooner than later of a thought out shelf/library.

thoughts? would love to hear them...

