a slump (and whine)

on

I have not been about because summer vacation has demanded day-long road trips, visiting with family members, and naps. Also, I am in a bit of a slump—a reader’s slump. I have time and the stack of books and I have little will to read.

I am horribly envious of my husband and daughter right now.

Sean has found a series that keeps him reading late and waking early, and carrying the book with him pretty much everywhere. He is on the third book of the series A Song of Fire and Ice titled A Storm of Swords. He has charged through George R.R. Martin’s first two in the series A Game of Thrones and A Clash of Kings and has A Feast for Crows on the book shelf waiting. Yes, these are of those insanely long saga-proportioned reads and Sean loves them.

Natalya is now reading aloud to her parents The Westing Game by Ellen Raskin. We had the option of this or The Mixed-up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler by E.L. Konigsburg. Natalya has recently read these two books (and another Konigsburg, The Second Mrs. Gioconda) and enjoyed them thoroughly. She has also reread three of the Maximum Ride books by James Patterson (a favorite of hers). She has been ears deep in two mythology tomes she picked up in the non-fiction section of the library—Greek and Norse.

Both Sean and Natalya are determined to finish the first Lord of the Rings by Tolkien for evening reading before she is off to friends’ and camp. (I am not including read-aloud’s in my whine, because both Sean and Natalya are excellent audio-versions.)

In the lazy hours of morning, and the hottest part of the day, and the quiet of evening in the cool books are at elbows and on laps and in hands. And I am staring off slumped with the book teetering between slowly turned pages and thumping shut covers. Or I am looking at the page wondering if I missed a paragraph somewhere, because suddenly I feel I skipped a groove someplace and the sense of the text is jumbled.

I should re-read something I know.

Meanwhile I have a stack of books, some for which I have been waiting in the Hold line at the Library. I had waited ages for Catherine Fisher’s Incarceron. I started this read yesterday afternoon. I just determinedly finished the higher power of lucky by Susan Patron the day before. I am struggling with that write-up. I had started Mister Monday: Keys to the Kingdom, book 1 by Garth Nix only to put it down and finally return it to the Library for now.

The slump could be explained by the fact that I have a lot on my mind right now. Too bad that the escapism that is possible with reading and writing hasn’t been much of a match; if I am indeed distracted with a churning mind. Whatever the reason, I hope the slump passes or diminishes soon. I hate having the time and the available to-be-reads and not have the inclination.

One Comment Add yours

thoughts? would love to hear them...

