RIP (VI) Wrap-up

It was another fun year for the Readers Imbibing Peril (RIP) Challenge that Carl over at “Stainless Steel Droppings” hosted.

This year I read:

The Stuff of Legend: The Dark (bk 1) by by Brian Smith & Mike Raicht

Gunnerkrigg Court (vol. 1 &2) a web-comic published in hardcopy that has enough “creepy & spectral” to fit as a seasonal treat.

Tales of Terror from the Black Ship by Chris Priestley.

Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs.

Edgar Allan Poe’s Tales of Mystery and Madness w/ Gris Grimly helped with my Poe fix, though I did read some w/ Natalya. I also read a bit of H.P. Lovecraft.

For more short story thrills there was Guys Read: Thriller edited by Jon Scieszka

I didn’t get to Cormac McCarthy’s The Road, but I am finishing Mary Shelley’s Frankenstein, and I am in the final pages of Erin Morgenstern’s The Night Circus.–hope to have that review this week.

And for Peril on Screen:

re-watched: Coraline (2009), Ghostbusters (1984), The Others (2001)

watched: The City of Lost Children (1995, Jean-Pierre Jeunet and Marc Caro)

Jane Eyre (2011), which I’ve yet to review and may not. was pleased by the performances, but a bit underwhelmed overall.

Logan at “Rememorandum” reviewed a short film by Mattson Tomlin called Dream Lover and that was a fitting RIP viewing. Check out the review and follow Logan’s link.

on television there was Doctor Who, Torchwood: Miracle Day, Luther, and Zen 

I found a few more blogs to follow and some great reviews–from these I made note to read Deborah Lawrenson’s The Lantern, Susan Hill’s The Woman in Black, My Mother She Killed Me, My Father He Ate Me by Kate Bernheimer, Martin Misunderstood by Karin Slaughter, something Michael Didbin, and A Night of Blacker Darkness ed by Cecil G. Bagsworth III (Dan Wells). and watch Buried (2010) and Don’t Be Afraid of the Dark (2010). I’m sure I missed some, but there you go.

Thank You Carl for hosting another great year! I hope to join a group-read next year, those looked like a lot of fun.

 

 

9 thoughts on “RIP (VI) Wrap-up

  1. I hadn’t heard of My Mother She Killed Me, My Father He Ate Me until this challenge, but it sounded exactly like something I’d like. This’ll stay on my radar, and I’ll (hopefully) pick it up next year for Carl’s “Once Upon A Time” challenge. Such a fascinating idea, the book.

  2. L says:

    read a couple of reviews earlier, but had completely forgotten it. It does sound up your alley, and the Once Upon a Time challenge sounds like a perfect excuse to read it.

  3. My pleasure to host and to have you along for the event this year. You got some good reading done. I wish I was farther along in The Night Circus but the group reads took up most of my time. I hope to get back to it soon because I want to discuss it with all of you who have read it while it is fresh in my mind.

    I had ordered The Woman in Black from the library but it came too late to fit it in with the challenge and I was overwhelmed, in a good way, with all the reading I was already doing.

    I unfortunately didn’t get to any Poe or Lovecraft this year either. Though I did purchase a new collection of Lovecraft’s work, so I guess that is something. ;)

    I also hoped to get a re-watch of Coraline in but did not, however I still plan on trying to fit that in this month. November is still a suitably creepy month in my opinion.

  4. L says:

    November is suitably creepy. I had to put in a request for the Library to order The Woman in Black. I hadn’t heard of the author until just before the challenge. My mother’s name is Susan Hill, so the author caught my attention, and then with all the glowing reviews I am going to have to be doubly certain to read it…and what with the film coming out!… I hope you enjoy it, and that you will be able to finish The Night Circus–is it bad that I thought just now (about The Night Circus) that you can at least put it down and pick it back up? I think it is most successful as an immersive experience, but I was able to keep it in balance with other reading, I think, without too much detriment.

    • Once I pick it up again I’ll be trying to just read it straight through. I bought it the day it came out but there was just no way I could fit it in while doing 3 group reads at once. Added to that the fact that I’ve really been hungering for science fiction lately and so have been working some SF in with the rest of my reading.

thoughts? would love to hear them...

